Asia Cup 2018: Bangladesh Announces 15-Member Squad

Updated - 30 Aug 2018, 07:21 PM

Bangladesh, Asia Cup 2018, Squad
Bangladesh announced squad for Aisa Cup 2018. (Credits - AFP)

The runner-up of Asia Cup in the previous edition, Bangladesh announces their 15-man squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018 scheduled in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The Tigers’ team is the first side to announce the squad for the tournament which is starting on September 15.

Quite to our surprise, Bangladesh has named a squad that misses out the few interesting names. However, they have got the services of Shakib Al Hasan, who is suffering from the finger injury for a long time now.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza to lead the side:

Initially, Shakib Al Hasan was expected to miss the Asia Cup 2018 citing finger injury. He was keen to take the surgery during the progress of the Asia Cup.

However, the internal talks made Shakib change the decision.

Shakib Al Hasan, Bangladesh, Asia Cup 2018
Shakib Al Hasan Credit: Getty Images

Shakib will be completing his finger surgery after the conclusion of the Asia Cup. Meanwhile, their key players in the limited-overs in the form of Anamul Haque and Sabbir Rahman missed out the place in the squad.

Surprisingly, Mominul Haque misses out in the list. Haque has been the consistent scorer in the domestic circuit.

However, they relied their trust on Litton Das and Ariful Haque who played match-winning knocks recently.

Mustafizur, Asia Cup 2018
Mustafizur Rahman (Credits – Getty Images)

Apart from them, all the players have been retained who toured Windies recently. In total, they will be led by Mashrafe Mortaza and Shakib Al Hasan will take the vice-captain role.

Mohammed Mithun and Abu Hider are the notable inclusions as well. Meanwhile, the left-arm paceman Mustafizur Rahman made it to the Asia Cup 2018 squad.

Here is the squad for Asia Cup 2018:

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza ( Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain}, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Litton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony