MS Dhoni | Sunil Gavaskar | India vs New Zealand 2019 |
MS Dhoni. Credit: Getty Images

Last Update on: January 20th, 2019 at 02:33 pm

It was an incredible night for Indians in Melbourne when they sealed ODI series in Australia. They had made a brilliant tour to Australia to make things fall in place for the Indian National Cricket Team. Meanwhile, the wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant hails the heroics of MS Dhoni and Yuzvendra Chahal to lift the trophy down under.

With the victory in the third ODI at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), India clinched the three-match series 2-1. It was India’s just second bilateral series Down Under after the 2016 series, which the hosts had won 4-1.

Rishabh Pant showered high words of praise on Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who said that Dhoni will be available whenever the team is in a crunch situation. He also hailed Yuzvendra Chahal, who registered record-breaking figures right in his first game in Australia.

Yuzvendra Chahal, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni
Yuzvendra Chahal picked up 6 wickets. (Credits – Getty Images)

Digging into his tweet, it read ”Top stuff from Chahal to scalp a splendid 6-for and MS Bhai – an absolute legend! Steps up at the most adverse of times to sail India through! Congrats on the series win, boys!”

MS Dhoni showed his class:

Chasing 231, India lost the openers, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan early in the innings and it was again Virat Kohli and Dhoni who laid the foundation with their 54-run stand for the third wicket.

Yuzvendra Chahal, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni remained unbeaten in the chase. (Credits – Twitter)

Though Virat Kohli walked back, Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav batted beautifully to ensure India cross the line. Dhoni and Jadhav shared a 121-run stand for the fourth wicket to collect the trophy.

MS Dhoni showed he is still the best finisher as he remained unbeaten on 87 and led India to a fantastic seven-wicket victory over Australia in the third One-Day International (ODI) on Friday.

Now, India will tour for a 5-match ODI series against New Zealand, which will be followed by 3-match T20I series. After returning back to home, India will host Australians in the ODI series before entering into Indian Premier League 2019.


I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!