India women to play Australia in March 2018, England Join Tri-Series Later

Australia Women’s to Tour India In March 2018, England To Join for a Tri-Series Later

Harmanpreet kaur
DERBY, ENGLAND - JULY 20: Harmanpreet Kaur of India walks off at the ebnd of the Indian innings during The Womens World Cup 2017 Semi-Final between Australia and India at The County Ground on July 20, 2017 in Derby, England. (Photo by Julian Herbert-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

A BCCI press release on Friday announced that the Australian Women’s team would tour India to play Indian women in 2018 for a three-match ODI series and a T20I series which will also involve England. The tour has been announced as a part of ICC Women’s Championship 2017-2020. The Southern Stars will tour India in March 2018 and three-match One Day series will be held from March 12 to March 18 in Baroda.

Indian Women's vs Australian Women's
Image Courtesy: Twitter

The tri-series will begin with India taking on Australia on March 22nd. World Cup winner England will join the two sides for a three-match T20I series in Mumbai as all the matches will be played in the city. England will begin their campaign against Australia on 24th March. All the T20 matches will be played at the Brabourne Stadium.

Heather Knight
LONDON, ENGLAND – JULY 23: England captain Heather Knight poses with the trophy after winning the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 Final between England and India at Lord’s Cricket Ground on July 23, 2017 in London, England. (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)

England and India last met each other in the final of the Women’s World Cup in a thrilling contest which the hosts England won by nine runs.

Ellyse Perry, ICC Cricket of the Year, Australia, Beth Mooney, Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award, Amy Satterthwaite, Harmanpreet Kaur
Ellyse Perry has set an example to follow. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The Australian women’s team will play two warm up matches against India A before the series begins. A BCCI spokesperson said:

 “The Australian Women’s Cricket Team will travel to India in March 2018 to take part in three ODIs against Indian Women’s Cricket Team as part of the ICC Women’s Championship (2017-2020). Prior to the ODI series, Australia Women will play two one-day warm-up matches against India A in Mumbai. After the completion of the ODI series, a T20I Tri-Series featuring India Women, Australia Women and England Women will be held at the Brabourne Stadium (CCI) in Mumbai.”

Prabhangad Singh

Ardent Sports lover, Cricket fanatic, Manchester United fan(GGMU), Roger Federer over Rafael Nadal