Shakib Al Hasan, BCB Contracts, Imrul Kayes
Bangladesh. (Photo by GIUSEPPE CACACE / AFP)

Well, Bangladesh Cricket Team has got their central contracts from the respective Bangladesh Cricket Board. They have named 4 categories in the contracts that were divided into A+, A, B and C. They have increased the number from 10 to 12 by adding a rookie category to the contact list. Imrul Kayes is the latest entrant into the contracts.

Only five members have fallen under the top category. The experienced Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, the skipper Mashrafe Mortaza on the list. The other two talented cricketers in the list are Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah Riyad.

Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan in A+ bracket:

All of them have been exceptional for the country in the recent past. Coming to ”A” Category, Imrul Kayes has been the surprise name on the list. He wasn’t the part of the contract list earlier. All of a sudden, he bagged A contract.

Shakib Al Hasan, BCB Contracts, Imrul Kayes
Shakib Al Hasan. Credit: Getty Images

He was accompanied with their two top-class bowlers Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain. Perhaps, the injury concerns of Mustafizur Rahman has made BCB deny him A+ category.

Well, in Grade B, they have named spinners Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, who garnered a huge name in the recent past. In addition to them, the opening batsman Liton Das and Mominul Haque were added.

For the first time, BCB came up with a Rookie Category. They have named the likes of Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Saifuddin in the list. Nayeem Hasan and Syed Khaled Ahmed also find a place in the contract list.

“If we need a back up for New Zealand we don’t have many options apart from Imrul as we don’t have a place for a pacer or spinner. But this is totally my personal observation because his name was not proposed to the officials,” Nazmul told reporters while announcing the central contract that was approved in the BCB board meeting on Saturday.

Liton Das
Liton Das Image Courtesy: Getty

Also, here is the list:

  •  Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah – GRADE A+
  •  Imrul Kayes, Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain – GRADE A
  •  Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan, Liton Das and Mominul Haque – GRADE B
  •  Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jayed Rahi, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Hasan and Syed Khaled Ahmed – ROOKIE CATEGORY

Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!