Bangladesh. Credits: Twitter

Bringing an end to all the speculations, the Bangladesh Cricket Board and Pakistan Cricket Board, on Tuesday (January 14), finally managed to reach a consensus on the upcoming series between the two nations. Bangladesh’s upcoming tour of Pakistan would now go ahead as planned. As a result, the Tigers will play two Tests, three T20Is and one ODI in Pakistan.

Bangladesh, however, will not play the entire series at a stretch as the tour has been split into three parts. The tour will start with the three T20Is, scheduled to be held between January 24 to 27. Bangladesh will then leave for home before returning to play the first Test, starting on February 7. It will be followed by another break.

Also Read: Watch: Fans Chant ‘Modi, Modi’ After Few Protest Over CAA, NPR, NRC At Wankhede Stadium

Bangladesh (Credit: Twitter)

After the first Test against Bangladesh, Pakistan’s players will take part in the Pakistan Super League. After the conclusion of the tournament on March 22, the second Test of the series will begin on April 5. Prior to the second Test, the one-off ODI will take place on March 3. Both the Tests are part of the World Test Championship.

“I am pleased that we have amicably achieved a resolution that is in the best interest of this great sport as well as both the proud cricket playing countries. I also want to thank ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar for the leadership he provided and ensured the sport continues to grow and thrive in the two countries,” PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani said.

The development has come just a day after BCB’s president Nazmul Hasan had said that the board has got the green light from the government only for a short tour of Pakistan. Bangladesh were thus willing to play only T20Is in Pakistan. The BCB had also proposed the idea of playing one Test in Pakistan and another in Bangladesh but PCB had refused it.

Here is the whole schedule for Bangladesh’s tour of Pakistan:

24 Jan – 1st T20I, Lahore

25 Jan – 2nd T20I, Lahore

27 Jan – 3rd T20I, Lahore

7-11 Feb – 1st Test, Rawalpindi

3 Apr – One-off ODI, Karachi

5-9 Apr – 2nd Test, Karachi