After a major protest from the cricketing fraternity in India, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) finally announced the new structure of centrally contracted players in the country.

The A+ grade players will now be paid a lucrative amount 0f INR 7 crores. The A+ grades players include the likes of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Meanwhile, the A grade players will now receive INR 5 crores from their contracts. The likes of MS Dhoni, Ashwin, Jadeja, Saha, Rahane and Pujara are included in the A grade bracket.

The B and C grade players will receive a remuneration of 5 crores and 3 crores respectively. Chahal, Kuldeep, Umesh, Ishant, KL Rahul and others constitute the B grade. Also, Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Parthiv Patel, others are included in the C-grade.

Apart from the men’s team, there also exists a substantial hike in the remuneration of the women’s team and domestic players. The grade A players in the women’s team will receive 50 lakhs.  B and C graded players shall be paid up to 30 and 10 lakhs respectively.

Committee of Administrators (CoA), appointed by the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India for BCCI on Wednesday announced the Annual Player Contracts for the period from October 2017 to September 2018.

BCCI increases salary by 3 times

The CoA was of the view that the performance and position of Indian Cricket need to be recognised with the fee structure comparable to the best in the world. It was mentioned by the Indian cricketers that the current payment structure was no match to the amount paid to English and Australian players.

BCCI included Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur, Jhulan Goswami and Smriti Mandhana in Grade ‘A. Shikha Pandey, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Veda Krishnamurthy represent the Grade ‘B’ players.

Image Credits: BCCI

Also Read:

Virender Sehwag Praises ‘Darji’ Ross Taylor Over Match-Winning Innings

SA vs AUS 2018: David Warner Free to Play Port Elizabeth Test