Women's T20 Challenge
Credits: BCCI

Last Update on: October 6th, 2019 at 05:33 pm

Recently updated on October 6th, 2019 at 05:33 pm

The BCCI, on Thursday, announced the squads for the three teams for this year’s women’s exhibition games. The games will be played during the IPL Play-offs week next month in Jaipur. Last year, only two teams – Supernovas and Trailblazers – had played out a solitary T20 game. But this year a third team – Velocity has been added.

As a result, a total of four games will be played this year.  The tournament will open with a clash between Supernovas and Trailblazers on May 6. Newcomers Velocity will open their campaign against Supernovas on May 8. Each team will play two matches and top two teams and the top two teams will clash in the final on May 11. All the matches will be standalone games.

Read More: IPL: Top Five Fights Among Indians in the History of the Tournament

Squads Announced For Women's T20 Challenge
Credits: BCCI

The captain of the three teams are – Harmanpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana.  Harmanpreet will lead the Supernovas while Smriti and Mithali will lead Trailblazers and Velocity respectively. All the three teams features some of the biggest names in the game like Natalie Sciver, Sophie Devine, Stafanie Taylor, Suzie Bates, Danielle Wyatt and others. Each of the teams have a maximum of four foreigners this time around, one lesser than five last time.

The BCCI also announced the coach of the three teams. WV Raman will coach Supernova while Biju George and Mamta Maben will coach Trailblazers and Velocity respectively.

Here are the squads announced by BCCI:


Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Athapaththu (SL), Jemima Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu(NZ), Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver(ENG), Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Sophie Devine(NZ), Taniya Bhatia, Coach: WV Raman

Read More: World Cup 2019: Sourav Ganguly Picks his Semifinalists for the Tournament


Smriti Mandhana (c), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shakera Selman (WI), Sophie Ecclestone (ENG), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Suzie Bates (NZ), Coach: Biju George


Mithali Raj (c), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Danielle Wyatt (ENG), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews (WI), Jahanara Alam (B’DESH), Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy, Coach: Mamta Maben


An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.