Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Photo: BCCI)

Last Update on: August 21st, 2020 at 11:50 pm

The Board of Control for Cricket in India [BCCI] took to their official Twitter account on Friday to congratulate the Sharmas’ of Indian cricketer- Rohit (Khel Ratna), Deepti and Ishant (Arjuna Award) following the decision of the National Sports Award Committee to confer them with the respective sports honors.

Rohit Sharma, Indian swashbuckling opener, became just the 4th Indian cricketer to be conferred with the Khel Ratna Award. Rohit, who finished as the leading run-scorer in ODI cricket in 2019 besides becoming the only batsman to score five hundred in a single World Cup, has joined the likes of Sachin Tendulkar [1998], MS Dhoni [2007] and Virat Kohli [2018] in the Khel Ratna elite list.

“Congratulations @ImRo45 for being conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, 2020, India’s highest sporting honour. He is only the fourth Indian cricketer to receive this award. We are proud of you, Hitman!” tweeted the BCCI.

Also Read- Three Indian Cricketers Who Deserved To Win The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

BCCI congratulates Deepti Sharma and Ishant Sharma for getting shortlisted for the ‘Arjuna Award’

Indian spin-bowling all-rounder Deepti Sharma has been rewarded for her consistent performances in both Women’s ODI and T20I cricket in the past 12-18 months.

BCCI, Rohit Sharma, Deepti Sharma, Ishant Sharma
Deepti Sharma. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Since the start of 2019, Deepti Sharma has 15 and 30 wickets in 12 ODIs and 24 T20Is respectively. Besides that, Sharma also stroked some brilliant cameos and racked up 137 and 302 runs in ODIs and T20Is respectively.

Congratulating the off-spin all-rounder, BCCI wrote-

”Congratulations to our all-rounder @Deepti_Sharma06 on being conferred upon with the prestigious Arjuna Award for 2020. May you continue soaring new heights.”

Another Indian cricketer, who has been rewarded with consistent performances is veteran fast bowler Ishant Sharma. Sharma, who is nearing a double of 100 Tests and 300 wickets, has been absolutely brilliant in the past 3-4 years, especially since 2018.

Ishant Sharma
Ishant Sharma. Credit: BCCI

The Delhi cricketer has racked up 71 wickets in 18 Tests at an average of 19.14 since the start of 2018. Congratulating the lanky fast bowler, the BCCI wrote-

”Congratulations to our senior-most Test bowler @ImIshant for winning the prestigious Arjuna Award for 2020. Keep going, champ!”

Also Read- Wasim Jaffer Explains Why KXIP Appointed KL Rahul As Captain

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.