Rahul Dravid, Indian Batsmen
Rahul Dravid [Photo-Getty']
Prev1 of 3

Rohit Sharma, charismatic Indian opener, was recently nominated by the Board of Control For Cricket in India [BCCI] for the highest sporting honor- the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Sharma, when he gets it, will join the elite list of Indian cricketers like Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar, World Cup-winning captain MS Dhoni and current skipper Virat Kohli as the only cricketers to have won the award.

Here’s a look at three Indian cricketers who should have also been conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award-

Also Read: Five Cricketers Who Began Their Careers As Bowlers But Ended Up As Batsmen

Sourav Ganguly

Three Indian Cricketers Who Deserved To Win The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award
Sourav Ganguly. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

Where should I start really? God of off-side? Slayer of left-arm spinners? Godfather of modern-day Indian cricket? Aggressive? In your face? Champion Leader? An instigator of a whirlwind change in the approach of Indian cricket?

Honestly, You can write a million objectives and even they wouldn’t be enough to describe the greatness of Sourav Ganguly. Ganguly achieved almost everything a cricketer can possibly dream of.

A dream debut? Check. 10,000 ODI runs? Check. Reincarnating Indian cricket after the 2000 match-fixing scandal? Check. Preparing future stars? Check. Test wins in overseas conditions? Check. Making a comeback against the odds heavily stacked against him in 2006? Check. Check. Check

Ganguly was conferred with the prestigious Arjuna Award in 1997 and Padma Shri in 2004 and it boggles me no end why he wasn’t conferred with the highest sporting award in the country- Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna.

Prev1 of 3

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.