IPL, IPL teams, Defunct, IPL teams who are defunct now
Deccan Chargers. Photo Credit: BCCI/IPL.
The Board of Control for Cricket in India [BCCI] has a lot on its plate thanks to the Covid-19 enforced hara-kiri that has put the entire schedule- International and domestic- and the 13th edition of the IPL into jeopardy. And, the apex cricketing body has now another jolt, this time after the court directed the Sourav Ganguly-led BCCI to pay a whopping Rs 4700 crores with regards to the ‘illegal termination’ of the now-defunct Hyderabad-based franchise Deccan Chargers.
BCCI Directed To Pay Rs 4800 Crores For 'Illegal Termination' Of Deccan Chargers
Rohit Sharma (Courtesy: IPL)
The 2009 IPL champions and one of the eight initial franchises in the first edition of the league was terminated by the BCCI on September 15, 2012, after an emergency meeting of the league’s governing council. This comes after the court-appointed arbitrator passed an award in favor of the erstwhile owner of the franchise- Deccan Chronicle Holdings [DCHL]. Also Read: Venues Ready In UAE As Emirates Cricket Board Gears Up To Host IPL 2020

BCCI has terminated Deccan Chargers in 2012

Back in 2012, the Hyderabad-based group had challenged the BCCI’s ‘illegal termination’. DCHL- the then-owners of the team- had then moved the Bombay High Court challenging the termination by the board. The board, however, initiated a new tender for the Hyderabad-based franchise which was ultimately won by the Kalanithi Maran-owned Sun TV Network 0.59℅. Following this, the High Court had appointed retired Supreme Court justice CK Thakkar as the sole arbitrator between the two parties in 2012. On Friday, July 17th, the DCHL won the arbitration case against the apex-board. Also Read: Kapil Dev Points Out Parents’ Wanting Their Kids To Play IPL Instead Of International Cricket

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.