The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recommended fast bowlers Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and women’s team leg-spinner Poonam Yadav for the prestigious Arjuna Award. The awards are bestowed to respect the individuals for their contribution in sports. The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports in India gives out the awards to the sportspersons.

Last year, only one cricketer – Indian women team’s opener Smriti Mandhana – had received the award.  According to reports, the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of met in New Delhi to discuss the names. As per reports in India Today,  GM Cricket Operations Saba Karim proposed the names of the four cricketers. Bumrah, who made his international debut in 2016, was one of India’s best performers last year especially in Tests.

BCCI recommended Shami and Bumrah for the Arjuna Award (Credits: Getty)

He picked up five wicket hauls in Tests in South Africa, England and Australia to finish the year with a staggering 48 wickets to his name. His performance also helped him make it to the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test team of the year in his maiden season in Test cricket in 2018. Bumrah is expected to lead India’s pace attack in the upcoming World Cup.

Mohammed Shami was equally impressive in Tests, helping India win the Test series in Australia. Towards the end of the year, he also made a comeback to the ODI team and recently made it to India’s World Cup squad. Along with Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, he is the other frontline pacer in India’s World Cup squad.

Ravindra Jadeja also made his comeback to the ODI team last year and also made it to India’s squad for the World Cup. Jadeja is among the top 10 in both the bowler and the all-rounder’s rankings in Test cricket.

On the other hand, Poonam Yadav was one of Indian women team’s most consistent performers last year. The spinner helped India make it to the semifinal of the World T20 in the Caribbeans. She is also among the top 10 bowlers in women’s cricket.