BCCI Recommends Four Names For The Arjuna Award
Jasprit Bumrah. Credit: Getty Images

Last Update on: July 25th, 2019 at 12:23 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has forwarded the names of speedsters Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and batswoman Poonam Yadav for the Arjuna award. Started in 1961, the Sports Ministry gives this award to the sportsperson to recognise their contribution in the field of sports.

BCCI sends four names for Arjuna Award

BCCI has been sending names for these prestigious awards for quite some time now. While they have recommended four names for the Arjuna Award, BCCI has not forwarded any names to the Ministry of Sports for the Khel Ratna award. The ministry has asked the board to either prune down the list to three as per the laid-out procedure or to provide a ranking order of names to make it easy for the concerned body to decide the awardees.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja (Credits: Twitter)

Also read: Sarfaraz Ahmed Should Not Be The Skipper Anymore, Says Shoaib Akhtar

Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been brilliant for India in the last few years. While Bumrah has gone on to become the top-ranked bowler with his impeccable display of variations, Shami has come up the ranks in the last few years. Both of them starred for the Men in Blues in the recently concluded ICC World Cup 2019. Bumrah, in particular, has been leading India’s fast bowling across the formats. He is currently the no one bowler in the ICC ODI Rankings. On the other hand, Ravindra Jadeja also showcased his skills with both bat and ball in the semifinals against New Zealand. He is currently the third-ranked all-rounder in the Test rankings.

Poonam Yadav, meanwhile, is the only woman cricketer to earn recommendations from BCCI for the Arjuna award. She has been a force to reckon with in the top-order alongside Smriti Mandhana a few days back. The awards will work as a catalyst for the players to strive for more success in the future.

Read More  ICC World Cup Schedule 2023 ODI, India 2023, Venue, PDF 2023. Date, Group, Match List, Time Table, Team List, Squad India

Also read: Amrapali Group Illegally Diverted Homebuyers’ Money To MS Dhoni’s Firm – SC

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making...