South Africa, on Monday, announced their squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Australia. As expected, Cricket South Africa have recalled the team’s pace spearhead Kagiso Rabada as well as former captain Faf du Plessis for the series that gets underway on Friday.

Along with Rabada and du Plessis, South Africa have also recalled Anrich Nortje. On the other hand, Reeza Hendricks, Beuran Hendricks and Sisanda Magala are the players who were part of the squad for the T20Is against England and have been dropped for the forthcoming series.

Temba Bavuma’s availability for the series depends on the scans that he will undergo after leaving the field during the final T20I against England with a right hamstring injury. The right-handed batsman impressed against England and is set to retain his spot if he clears the fitness test.

Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock. Credit: BCCI

There was, however, no recall for AB de Villiers. On Sunday, South Africa head coach Mark Boucher confirmed that the former captain would play in the T20 World Cup this year if he makes himself available.

Also Read: My positivity And Confidence Will Help India Win T20 World Cup, Says Shardul Thakur

Quinton de Kock will lead the team. Just hours before the T20I squad announcement, du Plessis had ended his tenure as South Africa’s T20I and Test captain. De Kock was named ODI captain ahead of the series against England at the start of this month and led the team in the T20Is too after his predecessor was rested.

De Kock had led the team against India too last year. But while the wicketkeeper-batsman has led the team from the front, he is yet to register a series win as captain. Against England, South Africa lost the series 2-1 after winning the first game. In the series-decider, the Proteas posted a mammoth total of 222 but ended up losing the game by five wickets.

South Africa T20I Squad:

Quinton de Kock (c/wk), Temba Bavuma (subject to fitness) Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Pite van Biljon, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Jon-Jon Smuts, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Dale Steyn, Heinrich Klaasen

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.