Cheteshwar Pujara Named In Saurashtra’s 16-Man Squad For Ranji Trophy 2019-20

Cheteshwar Pujara
Cheteshwar Pujara (Credits – Twitter)

One of the crucial members of the Indian National Cricket Team in Test form of the game, Cheteshwar Pujara will represent Saurashtra in the first couple of games of Ranji Trophy 2019-20. The flamboyant batsman was named in the side, which will be led by the fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat.

Read More: Ravi Ashwin, Murali Vijay In Tamil Nadu’s Star-Studded Ranji Trophy Squad

Cheteshwar Pujara will appear in both the games, which will be proper preparation for Cheteshwar Pujara ahead of the New Zealand tour. Apart from Pujara, the Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) has made sure to have the same core group that helped the team to reach final in the previous season of the prestigious tournament.

Cheteshwar Pujara
Cheteshwar Pujara Image Courtesy: Getty

Jaydev Unadkat to lead the side:

At the international level, Cheteshwar Pujara will be in action again in 2020 when India tour New Zealand in February-March for a two-Test series. In the intervening period, playing first-class matches will keep the middle-order batsman, who averages 49.48 in 75 Tests, match ready.

The likes of Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada retained their places in the side alongside the consistent performer Dharmendrasinh Jadeja. The notable name to miss on the chart is India’s ace all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja, who will be busy with his international commitments in the limited-over forms of the game.

Sheldon Jackson
Sheldon Jackson (Credits: Twitter)

Kamlesh Makwana, Snell Patel, Chirag Jani and Harvik Desai are the other notable names listed on the chart. The others to find a spot in the lineup are Prerak Mankad, Avi Barot, Vishvaraj Jadeja, Kushang Patel, Chetan Sakariya, Divyaraj Chauhan and Jay Chauhan.

Saurashtra, who are the runners-up of the last Ranji Trophy season, are placed in the Elite Group B. They will begin their campaign with a game against Himachal Pradesh in the picturesque stadium, Dharamshala. As per PTI reports, former India pacer Karsan Ghavri had already been appointed as Saurashtra head coach.

Read More – Mumbai’s Ranji Squad for 1st Game

Saurashtra Squad:

Jaydev Unadkat (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Kamlesh Makwana, Snell Patel, Chirag Jani, Harvik Desai, Prerak Mankad, Avi Barot, Vishvaraj Jadeja, Kushang Patel, Chetan Sakariya, Divyaraj Chauhan and Jay Chauhan.

Related Posts