Coaches Name Big Bash League Team Of The Tournament 2019/20

Updated - 03 Feb 2020, 03:21 PM

Glenn Maxwell, Short Ball, Australia
Glenn Maxwell (Credits: Twitter)

On Monday (February 3), Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell has been named as captain of the Big Bash League nominated by all 8 coaches of the tourney. It should be noted that as many as eight BBL coaches have selected the competition’s first-ever official Team of the Tournament.

Melbourne Stars and Adelaide Strikers have been featured with three players each. Marcus Stoinis who chipped in with an aggregate score of 612 runs made it to the team including Jonathan Wells, the third-highest scorer with 478 runs. Perth Scorchers wicketkeeper-batsman Josh Inglis earned the spot to open alongside Marcus Stoinis.

Glenn Maxwell
Glenn Maxwell. Credits: Melbourne Stars Twitter

Peter Siddle leads the bowling unit

Hobart’s Matthew Wade would bat at number three. Scorchers skipper and all-rounder Mitchell Marsh is placed at number six, with Adelaide’s veteran seamer Peter Siddle leading the star-studded bowling unit.

Peter Siddle, Big Bash League 2019/20
Peter Siddle Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The pace battery comprises the likes of Tom Curran, Daniel Sams and Haris Rauf. They have earned a nod on the back of notable performance in the tournament. Daniel Sams is the leading wicket-taker with as many as 30 wickets to his name while Curran is placed at the second spot with 22 wickets.

Rauf, who is playing in his first BBL season claimed 17 wickets in eight matches. Afghanistan captain Rashid Khan is the only full-time spinner in the team. He picked 19 wickets in 15 games. However, no players have been picked from the Brisbane Heat or Melbourne Renegades in the team.

Big Bash League team of the tournament:

Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars), Josh Inglis (Perth Scorchers), Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes), Glenn Maxwell (captain, Melbourne Stars), Jonathan Wells (Adelaide Strikers), Mitchell Marsh (Perth Scorchers), Tom Curran (Sydney Sixers), Rashid Khan (Adelaide Strikers), Daniel Sams (Sydney Thunder), Peter Siddle (Adelaide Strikers), Haris Rauf (Melbourne Stars).

Read More: Glenn Maxwell Is Not In The Top Seven At The Moment: Aaron Finch