Women's T20 Challenge 2020: Squads, Schedule, Venue, Live Streaming Details And Everything You Need To Know

Women’s T20 Challenge 2020: Squads, Schedule, Venue, Live Streaming Details And Everything You Need To Know

Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur
Getty Images

On Sunday, the BCCI announced the squads of the Women’s T20 challenge 2020 scheduled to take place next month. The BCCI named the captains as Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, and Mithali Raj for Supernovas, Trailblazers, and Velocity squads respectively. The three teams will take part in the short tournament from the 4th to 9th of November in the United Arab Emirates.

The top cricketers from the Indian women’s team will join forces with their counterparts from England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, West Indies, and New Zealand in a four-match competition. The Australian players have been an exception since the dates of Women’s Big Bash League clash with that of the Women’s T20 Challenge. The Women’s BBL will commence from the 25th of October and continue until the 29th of next month.

Ausw vs NzW
Australia Women’s Cricket team (Image Credits: Twitter)

The Thailand batter, Natthakan Chantham, who mustered her first women’s T20 World Cup half-century, also earned a selection. She will become the first Thai cricketer to feature in the tournament. The BCCI has asked the Indian cricketers to assemble in Mumbai by the 13th of October. The players will quarantine themselves for six days in Mumbai followed by as many days after reaching the UAE.

Squads of Women’s T20 Challenge 2020:

Women's T20 Challenge
Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy. [Photo-BCCI]
Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Jemimah Rodrigues (VC), Chamari Atapattu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (WK), Shashikala Siriwardene, Poonam Yadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Ayushi Soni, Ayabonga Khaka, Muskan Malik

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (C), Deepti Sharma (VC), Punam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D. Hemalatha, Nuzhat Parween (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simaran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, Natthakan Chantham, Deandra Dottin, Kashvee Gautam

Velocity: Mithali Raj (C), Veda Krishnamurthy (VC), Shafali Verma, Sushma Verma (WK), Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, Suné Luus, Jahanara Alam, M. Anagha

Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule:

Supernovas Vs Velocity, Sharjah (Match 1): November 04 at 7:30 PM IST 

Velocity Vs Trailblazers, Sharjah (Match 2): November 05 at 3:30 PM IST 

Trailblazers Vs Supernovas, Sharjah (Match 3): November 07 at 7:30 PM IST 

Final, Sharjah (Match 4): November 09 at 7:30 PM IST 

Live Streaming Of The Women’s T20 Challenge 2020:

Hotstar and Star Sports will telecast the tournament slated to take place from the 4th to 9th of November.

Also Read: IPL 2020: AB De Villiers Underlines What Makes Chris Morris A Special Talent