Cricket Schedule, County Championship, Specsavers county championship division 1, England and wales cricket,
County Championship (Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: June 30th, 2020 at 10:57 am

Following the resumption of international cricket and talks to re-start recreational cricket, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said that county cricket will return from August 1 in the country. In anticipation of the country cricket to begin, the players will begin training in July.

It will be a shorter county cricket season with the board still to decide on the format in which the matches will be played. The board, however, is expected to decide in a short span in the truncated county cricket in 2020 will be a 50-over affair or Championship.

County Cricket Set To Return From August 1
Getty Images

ECB chief Tom Harrison believes it is a significant step taken for cricket in country

ECB chief Tom Harrison believes that county cricket returning is a significant step taken towards the return of sport in the country. The step has been taken in consultation with 18 first-class counties, the Professionals Cricketers’ Association and ECB.

“It is a significant step for our game that we are able to approve the start of the men’s domestic season for 1 August and one which will be welcomed by everyone connected with County Cricket,” said Tom Harrison, the ECB chief executive.

Tom Harrison
Tom Harrison. Image Courtesy: Getty Images

“It follows extensive consultation between the 18 First-Class Counties, the Professionals Cricketers’ Association and ECB and has only been achievable thanks to the significant hard work that continues to occur as we prepare for a domestic season unlike any the game has faced before.”

Durham and Yorkshire have announced they will contest a two-day red-ball warm-up at Emerald Headingley on July 27 and 28, according to espncricinfo. Last week, Surrey and Middlesex confirmed their own plans for a similar fixture at the Kia Oval.

Meanwhile, the England will return to international cricket from July 8, in the first of three-match Test series against the West Indies.