CPL 2020: Jamaica Tallawahs vs St Lucia Zouks - Toss Report

CPL 2020: Jamaica Tallawahs vs St Lucia Zouks – Toss Report

Andre Russell
Andre Russell of Jamaica Tallawahs (Credits: ESPNcricinfo)

After the promising opening day of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2020, all eyes are now on the second day. The first day of the competition was full of drama, thrill, world-class cricket as Trinbago Knight Riders and Barbados Tridents won their respective games.

The first game of the second day will see Jamaica Tallawahs taking on St Lucia Zouks. After a disastrous campaign in the last season, both the teams will be keen to start well in the ongoing season. Jamaica Tallawahs as well as Zouks had failed to make it to the playoffs last season.

As far as their head-to-head contests are concerned, the Zouks won both their matches against the Jamaica-based outfit courtesy blistering half-centuries from Rahkeem Cornwall. The build up to the tournament was marred by controversy. Their former star Chris Gayle had launched a social media assault on Jamaica Tallawahs and a certain former teammate before their Andre Russell announced that the 2020 CPL season will be his last for the team. They will be keen to move on quickly by putting up a good show tonight.

Toss report:

Jamaica Tallawahs have won the toss and have elected to bowl first against St Lucia Zouks in the third match of CPL 2020.

Here is what the captains said:

Rovman Powell:

“The rain yesterday, not sure of conditions today, that’s why we’ll bowl. As a team we sat down and looked on last year’s performance – it wasn’t up to par. We can never replace Chris Gayle, but we’ll try our best in telling players to be themselves. Andre is fit and raring. Chadwick and Glenn Phillips are back. Brathwaite and Asif Ali in the middle order. Sandeep and Lamichhane the spinners.”

Daren Sammy:

“Stats from last few years don’t show we’ll do well, but we are positive. We have new franchise owners, and we have strong leadership. We have people who can lead and make impact. Andy Flower has ensured that.”

Playing elevens:

Jamaica Tallawahs:

Glenn Phillips(w), Chadwick Walton, Nicholas Kirton, Rovman Powell(c), Asif Ali, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Veerasammy Permaul, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Oshane Thomas

St Lucia Zouks:

Andre Fletcher(w), Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Roston Chase, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Daren Sammy(c), Scott Kuggeleijn, Obed McCoy, Kesrick Williams, Zahir Khan