PM Modi's Dream Of 'Atma Nirbhar Bharat' Will Be A Bit Shattered: CAB Secretary After Dream11 Bags IPL Title Sponsorship

PM Modi’s Dream Of ‘Atma Nirbhar Bharat’ Will Be A Bit Shattered: CAB Secretary After Dream11 Bags IPL Title Sponsorship

IPL was initially slated to start from March 29 (Photo- Twitter)

As the Board of Control for Cricket in India [BCCI] announced Dream11 as its title sponsor for the upcoming edition of the cash-rich Indian Premier League, Cricket Association of Bihar [CAB] secretary Arun Verma feels that the move has broken the dream of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ‘Atma Nirbhar Bharat’ since the fantasy platform is a Chinese company.

Brijesh Patel, IPL chairman, confirmed on Tuesday that the fantasy platform has won the title rights for the 13th edition for a sum of Rs 222 Crore.

“Fantasy sports platform Dream11 wins IPL title sponsorship rights with a bid of ₹222 crore.” Patel said.

While Dream11’s bid was for Rs 222 crores, Unacademy’s bid was Rs 210 crores followed by Tatas (180 crores) and Team India’s kit sponsor Byju’s [125 crores]. Patanjali and Reliance were also in the race for the title sponsorship.

Also Read- Breaking: Dream11 Signs Rs 222 Crore Deal For IPL 2020 Title Sponsorship

CAB President reacts on Dream11 bagging the title sponsorship of IPL 2020

Dream 11
IPL 2020 title sponsor Dream 11. (Photo: Twitter)

Vivo, who was originally the title sponsor of the IPL has pulled out of this years’ edition following the geopolitical tensions between India and China.

”As a well-wisher of Indian sports, I wish and pray that IPL 13 is held successfully in the UAE. However, with Dream11 becoming the title sponsor of IPL, Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s dream of ‘Atma Nirbhar Bharat’ will be a bit shattered as Dream11 is a Chinese company. It has also come to fore that the company has a huge investment in one of the IPL franchises,” Arun Verma told IANS

The 13th edition of the IPL will be held in the United Arab Emirates from September 19 to November 10 in the United Arab Emirates this year.

The 53-day tournament will consist of ten double-headers and the final of the cash-rich league will take place on November 10.

Also Read- On This Day In 2008- The Arrival Of the ‘King’ Virat Kohli

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.