Cricket Australia Bring New Change To Tied Games Following World Cup Super-Over Controversy

Sachin Tendulkar, Super Over
(Photo by Philip Brown/Getty Images)

The world cup final between New Zealand and England was one of the hot topics of this year, especially, in the cricketing world. Kane Williamson-led New Zealand side has done everything to lift the trophy for the first time. But, a certain set of rules saw England winning the game ahead of New Zealand despite scoring the same number of runs on the. Board. To avoid such scenarios in the future, Cricket Australia brought an interesting change to the super over format.

Read More: Rohit Sharma Deserves To Be In The Playing XI If He Is In The Team, Says Zaheer Khan

During the world cup final, England were declared winners on the count of the boundaries. It certainly didn’t welcome well by the fans across the globe, as they felt that New Zealand did nothing wrong to end on the losing side. In order to bring an end card to such situations, Cricket Australia’s think tank came up with an idea of playing multiple super overs.

Read More: Rohit Sharma Deserves To Be In The Playing XI If He Is In The Team, Says Zaheer Khan

Cricket Australia
BBL (Credits -Cricket Australia)

We have a strong system in place – Dobson

It means that the tied teams will play multiple super overs until the result is obtained. If the problem of declaring the winner persists even after playing the multiple super overs than the team that won the rights to host the match will be declared as the winner.

“The Super Over has been a discussion point globally after the ICC Cricket World Cup Final,” CA’s Head of Big Bash Leagues Alistair Dobson said. “The WBBL04 Semi-Final between the Sydney Sixers and Melbourne Renegades gave us valuable insight into the feelings of teams and fans towards Super Overs.

Cricket Australia
WBBL (Credits -Cricket Australia)


Read More: What Are India’s 2007 ICC T20I World Cup Winning Members Up To Now?

“We hope that allowing for multiple Super Overs in WBBL and BBL Finals will provide our teams and fans with the best possible experience. We look forward to another competitive season for both leagues and believe we have a strong system in place should a nail-biting knockout match arise,” he added.

Two finals in Australia’s Women Big Bash League (WBBL) have been decided on the basis of boundary countback rule. Sydney Sixers in the second season and Melbourne Stars in the following season emerged winners following the same methodology.

Read More: ICC World Cup 2019: Match 7, Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka – Toss Report

Surprisingly, even after such a ruckus among the fans, the supreme board is yet to come up with a new measure to counter such incidents. It would be interesting to see whether they would bring any change to the rule for ICC T20I World Cup 2007.

Related Posts