CSA [Photo-Getty]

Dhevan Dharmalingam, Cricket South Africa [CSA] independent director, has officially resigned from his positions, and the entire board is expected to follow his footsteps by stepping down in the upcoming days.

According to a report publishes in TimesLIVE, Dharamalingam informed the Cricket South Africa company secretary, Welsh Gwaza, about the acceptance of his resignation after a members council meeting on Thursday to dissolve the entire board. It is, however, not clear whether the order from the council of members extends to the executive management or not.

The members’ council- the highest decision-making body- which is made up of 12 affiliate presidents and the CSA p

CSA [Photo-Getty Images]
According to the same report, Dharmalingam tendered his resignation anticipating the inevitable after it became very pretty evident that the days of CSA board were numbered. The move came after the members’ council asked the board, including Cricket South Africa president Beresford Williams to recuse itself from the meeting held on Thursday.


TimesLIVE has obtained the copy of Dharmaingam’s communication with the board and Welsh Gwaza, which reads-

“Further to the recommendation [by members council] taken last night [on Thursday]‚ I would like the company secretary [Gwaza] to advise the members’ council on my behalf as follows:”

Following the Board meeting last night I have engaged with no Director or anyone related to CSA in making the following commitment.

“I note that my appointment as an independent director is until the next AGM‚ which will be no later than 5th December 2020. I hereby confirm my acceptance to resign as an independent director‚ should the member council‚ in its deliberations‚ believe this is in the best interest of CSA‚” said Dharmalingam. “I remain committed to CSA ‚ and wait for the final resolution from the members council‚” the letter stated.

Dharmalingam was appointed as an independent director back in May 2019 alongside Dr. Eugenia Kula-Ameyaw and Vuyokazi Memani-Sedile as independent board directors. The trio’s tenure was to continue till the AGM, which was set to take place on December 05, 2020, but the crisis that has engulfed to gigantic proportions, leading to SASCOC attempting to take over the cricket administration, resulted in the elective meeting, where they would have been eligible for re-election.


After SASCOc tried to intervene,  Sports Minister Nathi Mthethwa wrote to CSA, giving the leadership time till October 27 to explain to him as to why the government should not take over the cricket administration.

Also Read- Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli Lead Cricketing Fraternity’s Wishes For Kapil Dev After Heart Attack

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.