Parthiv Patel was one of the positives for Royal Challengers Bangalore in an otherwise yet another dismal campaign. Royal Challengers Bangalore once again failed to live up to the expectations and finished at the bottom of the points table. They started disastrously and lost the first six games of the campaign. They did improve towards the end of the season but the damage was already done.

The Bangalore-based outfit eventually finished the campaign with the wooden spoon after winning just five of their 14 league games. But unlike the team, Parthiv Patel was a consistent performer during the season. The left-handed batsman finished the campaign with 373 runs. He was the third highest run-scorer for the team.

Also Read: Prithvi Shaw Hits Whirlwind Fifty On Return To Action

Unsurprisingly, Royal Challengers Bangalore retained the wicketkeeper-batsman for the upcoming season. The Bangalore-based franchise released as many as 12 players but made sure to keep hold of Parthiv. The players released by the franchise are Dale Steyn, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetymer, Akshdeep Nath, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Colin De Grandhomme, Prayas Ray Barman, Tim Southee, Kulwant Khejroliya, Himmat Singh, Heinrich Klaasen and Milind Kumar.

Parthiv Patel
Parthiv Patel (Credits: Twitter)

Hours after the franchise confirmed the list, former Australia batsman Dean Jones tried to pull Parthiv Patel’s legs on Twitter. The ex-cricketer-turned-commentator hilariously asked Mike Hesson, director of cricket operations of the franchise:

“You kept @parthiv9? ?.”

The tweet was noticed by Parthiv and he was quick to reply to it. The Gujarat star came up with a funny response too, telling Jones:

“So that u can be at peace during ipl in #selectdugout ….”

Royal Challengers Bangalore, meanwhile, will have a new look squad and back room staff for the next season. They have roped in Hesson as the director of cricket operations and have appointed Katich as the head coach. The team will also have the services of former India trainer Shankar Basu, Sridharan Sriram as the spin-bowling coach and Adam Griffith as bowling coach.