Shubman Gill
Shubman Gill (Credits: Twitter)

India C won the third match of the Deodhar Trophy 2018/19 convincingly beating India A by six wickets and advanced them into the final on October 27 (Saturday). Earlier in the day, India A skipper Dinesh Karthik won the toss and elected to bat first. The opening pair Abhimanyu Easwaran and Anmolpreet Singh started their innings well as the added 99 runs for the first wicket.

Shubman Gill stole the show with a brilliant hundred

However, Vijay Shankar was the pick of the bowlers from India C who grabbed three wickets, as he rattled the middle order batting lineup in quick time. Easwaran and Singh were the only two batsmen who accumulated the highest run partnership for the team.

Later, India A batsman, Nitish Rana added some vital 68 runs in the middle. Also, Kedar Jadhav played some fearless cricket, as he scored 41 runs off 25 balls with the help of two boundaries and two sixes.

Vijay Shankar, Deodhar Trophy 2018/19
Vijay Shankar.

While chasing down the target, India C opening pair, Ajinkya Rahane and Abhinav Mukund managed to add 24 runs for the first wicket. The bowlers of India, A team, couldn’t do much, as they only picked up three wickets in the match.

Later Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan Kishan added 121 runs for the fourth wicket.

Meanwhile, India C batsman, Gill played some excellent cricket in the middle, as he became the only centurion of the match. He scored unbeaten 106 runs off 111 balls with the help of eight boundaries and three sixes. Suryakumar Yadav also played some exceptional cricket with Gill and added 90 runs for the fifth wicket.

Suryakumar Yadav, Deodhar Trophy 2018/19
Suryakumar Yadav.
Deodhar Trophy 2018-19: India A vs India C, 3rd Match - Review

Meanwhile, Suryakumar Yadav also batted a helped India C excellently to win over India A with three overs to spare. Yadav scored 56 runs from 36 deliveries with three boundaries and four sixes. Shubman Gill was awarded as the Man of the Match for his fantastic knock.

India C won the match (Shubman Gill 106*, Ishan Kishan 69; Ravichandran Ashwin 1/46) to India A (Abhimanyu Easwaran 69, Nitish Rana 68; Vijay Shankar 3/40) by six wickets.

Arijit Chatterjee

An avid sports lover