Ajinkya Rahane, India C vs India B, Deodhar Trophy 2018/19
India B won Deodhar Trophy in 2018. Image Courtesy: Twitter

India C won the final match of the Deodhar Trophy 2018-19 beating India B convincingly by 29 runs at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi. However, earlier in the day, India C skipper, Ajinkya Rahane won the much-needed toss and elected to bat first. The opening pair of Rahane and Ishan Kishan added 210 runs for the first wicket. Ajinkya scored an unbeaten 144 runs off 156 deliveries with the help of nine boundaries and three sixes.

Rahane’s ton helped India C win the title

On the other hand, India C opener, Ishan Kishan also scored a brilliant century scoring 114 runs off 87 balls with the help of eleven boundaries and six sixes.

Later, Suryakumar Yadav added some vital 39 runs off 18 deliveries. India B pacer, Jaydev Unadkat was the pick of the bowlers who picked up three wickets in the innings. The batsmen posted a mammoth total of 352 runs at the end of 50th overs.

Image result for ajinkya rahane

While chasing down the target, India B opener, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Mayank Agarwal couldn’t put a good show. They lost the early wickets within the fourth over of the match. Skipper Shreyas Iyer and Gaikwad added some vital 116 runs for the second wicket.

However, Iyer was the only centurion from his team who scored a fantastic knock of 148 runs. He smashed eleven boundaries along with eight massive sixes.

Later, India C bowlers rattled the middle-order batting line-up, and Pappu Roy bagged with three wickets to his name. Ankush Bains looked steady, and he wanted to finish off thing well but lost his temperament and gave a simple catch to Vijay Shankar.

Deodhar Trophy 2018-19: India B vs India C, Final - Match Review

In addition to that, it was a high scoring match, as both, the teams scored 300+ runs in both the innings. Ajinkya Rahane was awarded as the Man of the Match for his excellent innings.

India C won the match (Ajinkya Rahane 144*, Ishan Kishan 114; Jaydev Unadkat 3/52) to India B (Shreyas Iyer 148, Ruturaj Gaikwad 60; Pappu Roy 3/75) by 29 runs.

Arijit Chatterjee

An avid sports lover