Dilip Vengsarkar

Dilip Vengasarkar, the former India captain, has been appointed as the chief mentor of the Mumbai T20 League.

He is the third most prominent personality appointed in the league, followed by Sunil Gavaskar and Sachin Tendulkar.

While Gavaskar is the commissioner of the league, Tendulkar is the face, i.e. brand ambassador of the T20 league.

A report in Sportstar suggests Vengasarkar expressed his disappointment towards MCA for not taking note of him for the league.

Dilip Vengsarkar (Photo Source: Google)
Dilip Vengsarkar (Phot Source: Google)

As a result of it, the state association created a new post of Chief Mentor,

“It’s an honour to be a part of the inaugural edition of Mumbai’s very own T20 league. As the Chief Mentor, I aim to encourage and nurture young cricketers for successful performance on home turf. This is a great platform for Mumbai cricketers to shine and make a mark, early on, in their careers, leading to a promising future,” a statement from Vengsarkar read as.

Just like Gavaskar’s role, there is no clarity on the role of Vengasarkar as well.

The former Indian captain seems to be roped in to add the star factor to the league.

Dilip Vengsarkar Appointed Mumbai T20 League's Chief Mentor
(Photo by Satish Bate/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

On the other hand, Sachin’s role is clear, as he has been the face on whom the state association is banking on. He also inaugurated the league a few days back.

The inaugural edition of Mumbai T20 League starts tomorrow (February 11). All the three former Indian players (Gavaskar, Vengasarkar and Sachin) will be present during the first game of the tournament. They are also expected to be present during the final.

Also, the three legends will also mark their presence during the opening ceremony of the tournament, which takes place today (March 10).

Many of the star players are all set to mark their presence on the field. Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer and Abhishek Nayar are all set to represent different teams in the league. Domestic stars will also add to the star factor.

Rohit Sharma will also play a game for his side if it qualifies for the final of the tournament. The coaching staff of various teams is also star-studded.

Vinod Kambli, Amol Muzumdar, Milind Rege, Lalchand Rajput are few of the stalwart players in the backroom staff of various teams.

Here is the news feed –

Sreenath Arvind retires from domestic cricket

Steve Waugh praises Virat Kohli for his character