Dinesh Karthik
Dinesh Karthik (Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: September 14th, 2019 at 08:58 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Dinesh Karthik will be leading Tamil Nadu in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy, TNCA announced on Saturday. Karthik was already announced as the captain of the side but the team has been announced today. Vijay Shankar, under whom Tamil Nadu won the trophy in 2016/17, has been named deputy to Karthik.

Also Read: Jasprit Bumrah speaks on his chances of playing county cricket

Abhinav Mukund, Washington Sundar and Murali Vijay are other international stars in the side. Sundar, who is a part of the T20I squad, will be joining the soon after the completion of the series. Vijay is not a part of the Indian team and will be available for the full tournament.

Ravichandran Ashwin India
Ravichandran Ashwin.(Credits: BCCI)

R Ashwin, who is a part of the Test side against South Africa, isn’t a part of the squad. During the tournament, the focus will be on Karthik and Shankar.

Read More  Ravichandran Ashwin, Virat Kohli Eye Historic Feat In ICC World Cup 2023

Starting from Karthk, he was dropped from the Indian team after World Cup 2019 but can still make a comeback on the basis of domestic performances.

Team India is yet to find a suitable finisher in limited-overs cricket. Karthik averages over 100 in chases in ODIs since his comeback in 2017 and is a strong contender to earn his place back in the squad.

In T20Is as well, Karthik can be instrumental to do finisher’s job especially when MS Dhoni is not certain to play the shortest format of the game. Good performances in the tournament can see Karthik make his national comeback.

Vijay Shankar
Vijay Shankar (Credits: Getty Images)

For Shankar, the tournament will be more of a fitness test. He was a part of World Cup squad but was rued out midway due to an injury. He made his comeback for South Africa A one-day series but was ruled out again.

Also Read: Virat Kohli reveals reason behind non-inclusion of Kuldeep Yadav Yuzvendra Chahal in T20I squad

He isn’t a part of the South Africa series but can make a comeback for West Indies series if he proves his fitness in the tournament. Shankar will be available for the complete Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Baba Aparajith and Murugan Ashwin will have a crucial role to play in Tamil Nadu’s campaign. Tamil Nadu play Rajasthan in their opening match on September 24 in Jaipur. Divakar Vasu will coach the 2016//17 Vijay Hazare Trophy champions.

Read More  "Unreal Luck": Fans React As Ravichandran Ashwin Replaces Axar Patel In India's World Cup 2023 Squad

Team: Dinesh Karthik (captain), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), Abhinav Mukund, M Vijay, B Aparajith, M Ashwin, M S Washington Sundar, R Sai Kishore, N Jagadeesan, T Natarajan, K Vignesh, M Mohammed, M Siddharth, Abhishek Tanwar, C Hari Nishaanth, J Kousik.