Ehsan Mani | Pakistan Cricket Board | PCB | Najam Sethi | Imran Khan |

Ehsan Mani Replaces Najam Sethi as the New Chairman of PCB

Ehsan Mani, PCB, ICC
Ehsan Mani has replaced Najam Sethi as the new chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). Image Courtesy: Getty

The chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Najam Sethi tendered his resignation on Monday after taking the chair four years ago.

BCCI, Asia Cup, India, Pakistan, resignation
Najam Sethi announced his resignation as the PCB Chairman.
Photo Credit: AFP.

As per reports, Najam Sethi did not have a good relationship with the patron of Pakistan Tehreek Insaaf, Imran Khan due to political indifference.

In the General Elections 2018, Imran Khan got a mandate, and he recently took an oath as the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

“I was waiting for the new Prime Minister to take the oath before submitting my resignation as PCB Chairman, which I have done on Monday. I wish PCB all the best and hope our cricket team goes from strength to strength,” Sethi said.

Sethi was proposed unanimously by ex-Prime Minister of Pakistan, Nawaz Sharif for three years from 2014-17. For his phenomenal success, he got another three years to showcase his skills. Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, the ex-Prime Minister, brought this news to light.

Najam Sethi, PCB, Pakistan, Chairman, PSL
Najam Sethi has been at the helm of PCB’s affairs. Photo Credit: Getty Images

After Najam Sethi, Ehsan Mani will be new PCB Chairman

After winning elections, Imran Khan is the patron of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) now. Following the change in top position, the resignation of Najam Sethi was on the cards.

“I was unanimously elected Chairman PCB in August 2017 by all ten members of the BoG for a three-year term ending in 2020. I believe I have served the cause of cricket diligently,” Sethi further said in his resignation letter.

“You have said on many occasions that you have a vision for Pakistan cricket. Therefore it is only proper that you should assume charge and responsibility for assembling a management team for PCB that enjoys your full confidence and trust.”

In the meantime, the new Prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan announced new chairman of PCB. The former ICC Chairman, Ehsan Mani is the new chairman of the board now. In his tweet, Imran Khan made this announcement.


Syed Yasir

I'm cricket enthusiast who has the passion to contribute in this beautiful sport by doing writing for it. I'm an ardent supporter of Misbah-ul-Haq, Suresh Raina and Hashim Amla. I'm a strong believer following passion and determination.