Former Indian opening batsman Gautam Gambhir sees no trouble with using a concussion substitute if there is a rule for utilizing one and concussion took place. Gautam Gambhir said in reference to the first T20 international between Ravindra Jadeja and Yuzvendra Chahal when the latter replaced the former after Jadeja copped a blow while batting in the first innings. The decision triggered debates as Chahal, who was not viewed as an exact like-for-like replacement.
In the last over of India’s innings, a Mitchell Starc bouncer hit Ravindra Jadeja’s helmet; however, he kept batting and his innings of 44 lifted India to a winning score of 161. It emerged after the southpaw went to the dressing room that he had a concussion and India named a replacement in Yuzvendra Chahal. The leggie bowled a match-winning spell of 4-0-25-3 to lead India to an 11-run victory and take a lead of 1-0 in the three-match series.
Gautam Gambhir underlined that the replacement was the match referee’s call and what he thinks is crucial. The former Indian cricketer understands that Australia’s coach Justin Langer would be unhappy with it since Ravindra Jadeja batted, having a hamstring niggle and as a replacement getting Yuzvendra Chahal, who is effective in T20Is. Gambhir added that Langer did expect the leggie to make things challenging for Australia and ended up having a massive impact in the game.
“It’s the match referee call as well. What he thinks about it, that’s more important. I know Justin Langer would be unhappy because Ravindra Jadeja was batting, and he had a hamstring niggle as well. And getting someone like Yuzvendra Chahal who is probably a very, very good T20 bowler. He would expect it to make things worst for Australia and it did. Because the kind of impact he had in the 2nd innings, was huge from India’s point of view,” Gambhir told ESPN Cricinfo.
It could be a delayed concussion as well: Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir went on to express empathy with Australia and reckons Jadeja might have had a delayed concussion. Hence, the 39-year old expects teams to use the rule when it is available and lauded India for making the best use of it by getting a wrist-spinner. Thus, the cricketer-turned-commentator reckons that India were right to use if a concussion did occur.
“I understand that Australia must be frustrated, but it could be a delayed concussion as well. If there is a concussion, and there is a concussion rule, why not use it. India used it to the best of their advantage bringing in a wrist spinner. We kept talking about India may miss a wrist spinner and they did not miss the wrist spinner. He had a huge impact on this game. If there is actually concussion, so it is fair on India to use that,” he added.