Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli with Rohit Sharma. (Credits - Getty)

It’s been a scintillating year for the cricket lovers, as a lot of cricket was played across the globe. On every other day, we came across cricket being played across the formats. Meanwhile, the voice of cricket, Harsha Bhogle picked his ODI XI of the year. As ever, it has got quite a few exciting inclusions and exclusions.

The cricket expert Harsha Bhogle picked India’s Rohit Sharma and England’s Jason Roy as his opening batsman in the ODI Team of the year for 2019. Rohit Sharma has struck seven centuries in ODIs in the year, while Jason Roy had a strike rate of almost 120. Roy has made a tremendous impact during the ICC World Cup 2019 for England by scoring runs at an average of 70.41.

Babar Azam, Harsha Bhogle, ODI Team Of The Year 2019
Babar Azam (Credits: Twitter)

Read More: Sanjay Manjrekar Replies To A Tweet Mocking His Old Tweet Where He Wrote Virat Kohli Off As Test Cricketer

Virat Kohli at number 3, Babar Azam at number 4:

Without any ray of a doubt, Harsha Bhogle picked Virat Kohli to be his number 3 batsman. The skipper of the Indian National Cricket Team has scored almost 1,300 runs in 24 innings in the year at an average of 58.72. For number 4 slot, he asked Babar Azam to do the job for his team. He has amassed 1092 runs at an average of 60.66.

Then comes Shakib Al Hasan in the lineup, who had a sensational World Cup in England earlier this year. He scored runs at an average of 93.25 and took 13 wickets for the team. At number 6, Harsha Bhogle chose Ben Stokes, who had a memorable year. He delivered the goods when it mattered the most to garner a massive name. He scored 719 runs in 20 games at an average of 59.71 and picked 12 wickets.

Ben Stokes (Credits: Twitter)

For wicket-keeper slot, Harsha Bhogle picked Jos Buttler, who can strike big for the team down the order. He averaged 47 in this year to score 667 runs in 16 games. Coming to the fast bowling department, Harsha Bhogle picked Mitchell Starc alongside Jasprit Bumrah and Jofra Archer.

Read More – Best T20XI Of The Year

He believes the trio will do the job on any surface, and at any stage of the game. For the remaining spinner slot, he asked Kuldeep Yadav to finish the lineup. Besides the ODI team of the year, Harsha also picked the Alternate ODI Team of the year, as he feels 2019 season had witnessed quality performances from many superstars of the game.

Harsha Bhogle’s ODI Team of the year:

Rohit Sharma, Jason Roy, Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kuldeep Yadav

He also picked an alternate ODI team of the year:

Aaron Finch, Shai Hope, Kane Williamson, Faf du Plessis, Eoin Morgan, James Neesham, Andile Phehlulwayo, Pat Cummins, Trent Boult, Shaheen Afridi, and Yuzvendra Chahal.


Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!