ICC Announces Dates For 2023 ODI World Cup Qualifiers; Zimbabwe To Host The Event

ICC Announces Dates For 2023 ODI World Cup Qualifiers; Zimbabwe To Host The Event
India will host the 2023 World Cup. (Photo by Narayan Maharjan/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the dates and the venue for the 2023 ODI World Cup Qualifiers. The entire event is slated to take place in Zimbabwe from June 18 to July 9, 2023.

The 2023 World Cup is scheduled for October in India. The hosts along with the top seven teams in the World Super League will qualify directly for the mega event. England are the defending champions; Eoin Morgan’s side won the tournament for the first time in their history by defeating New Zealand in the final.

ICC. Image-Twitter.

ICC reschedules 96 ODIs for The World Cup Qualifiers

The bottom five teams from the Super League will play in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe, along with the top three teams from League 2.

Owing to the disarrays created by the covid-19 outbreak ICChas to reschedule 96 ODIs matches and 60 List-A games as the governing body pledges to keep the safety of the players as their utmost priority.  96 ODIs will be played across 14 series ahead of the qualifying event.

“We have worked very closely with Members and stakeholders to reschedule 96 ODIs and 60 List-A matches and will continue to maintain the safety of participants in our events as our highest priority,” in a statement. released, Chris Tetley, ICC head of events said.

World Cup
England won the last 50-over World Cup (Credits: Twitter)

ICC confirmed that two leagues – Cricket World Cup Challenge League A Cricket World Cup Challenge League B – will run alongside the ODI Super League.  Canada will host Denmark, Malaysia, Qatar, Singapore, and Vanuatu in League A. USA will host Bermuda, Hong Kong, Italy, Kenya, and Uganda in League B.

“After the 21 tri-series in League 2 have been completed, the top three teams will confirm their place in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023. The bottom four teams will drop into the Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-Off 2023 – which is a repechage event to the Global Qualifier – and will be joined by the winner of Challenge League A and B.

“The top two teams from the Play-Off – which has also been rescheduled to 2023 – will keep their hopes alive of participating in India 2023, by qualifying for the Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023,” the statement added.

Also Read: Virat Kohli Backs Ajinkya Rahane To Do A ‘Tremendous’ Job In His Absence As A Captain


Related Posts