ICC Awards Steven Smith ICC Test Cricketer of the Year
Australia captain Steven Smith has been named as the ICC Test Player of the Year during the ICC awards. Image Courtesy: Getty Images

Last Update on: January 18th, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Australia skipper, Steven Smith bagged the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award 2017. Smith went past other nominees in the list who were Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon and James Anderson.

Smith was the highest run-scorer in the year, as he slammed 1875 runs in the qualifying period at an average of 78.12. He was highly rated for his century in the Pune Test against India. The visitors bamboozled the home side to post a win in the first Test. Though Australia lost the series but Smith was highly praised for his performances.

In the recently concluded Ashes series, Smith drew comparisons with Don Bradman. He scored 687 runs in just seven innings at a bradmansque average of 137.40 to lead the team from the front. Australia regained the Ashes urn from visitors by defeating them by 4-0.

Smith has succeeded India’s Ravichandran Ashwin to win the Test Cricketer of the year award.

He had stiff competition from Nathan Lyon, his teammate, who took 63 wickets in the year. Veteran, James Anderson was also a tough competitor. He scalped 55 wickets in 11 Tests and much importantly, he became the highest wicket-taker for England.

ICC Awards Virat Kohli Player of the Year

Virat Kohli too was a strong competitor for the award. He scored three double centuries in the year and scored 1059 runs.

Read More  Virat Kohli To Miss Warm-up vs Netherlands? India Land In Thiruvananthapuram Without Star Batter: Reports

However, Smith’s show was enough to blow out every other contender from the race.

Smith sent a video message after winning the award. Here is what he said –

ICC also announced winners in other categories. Virat Kohli swept the awards, as he won the ICC Cricketer of the Year award along with the ODI player of the year award. He was also appointed as the captain of ODI and Test team of the year.

Follow Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here.

Video of the day –

YouTube video