ICC Test Player of the Year Virat Kohli
India captain Virat Kohli would be racing for the ICC Test player of the Year award alongside Australia's Steven Smith and few others. Image Courtesy: Getty Images

There is a stiff competition among the six players in the race to win the ICC Test player of the year award. The list includes heavyweights in the form of Virat Kohli, Steven Smith, Kane Williamson, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon and legendary, James Anderson.

Starting with Smith, he scored a total of 1305 runs in the year at an average of 76.76 with six centuries and three half-centuries. On captaincy front though, he had mixed results, but he shone with the bat every time he went out there.

India captain, Virat Kohli, showed why he is the legend of the game in all formats. He emerged out as the highest run-scorer scorer in the ODI cricket and, in this format, he scored 1059 runs at an average of 75.64. He also scored three double centuries in the year.

Kane Williamson, New Zealand Vs Windies, Seth Rance, Tim Southee, Chris Gayle,
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Next and the last batsman on the list is New Zealand skipper, Kane Williamson, who scored 566 runs in ten innings. Williamson’s runs came at a healthy average of 62.68 with three centuries and two half-centuries.

Nathan Lyon

The only spinner in the list is Australia’s Nathan Lyon, the Goat. The off-spinner bagged a record 63 wickets at 23.55 with best figures of 8/50 in an innings against India in the Bengaluru Test. He was the highest wicket-taker in the year.

South Africa Vs India, Greame Smith, Pace Test, Proteas, Indian Bowlers, Test Series, Cape Town
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Youngster Kagiso Rabada, the second highest wicket-taker, is also running for the award. He scalped 57 wickets to end the year as second highest wicket-taker. Rabada took three fifers and a ten-wicket haul twice.

james anderson

Veteran James Anderson is last name on the list. He entered the elite list of bowlers to take 500 Test wickets. In total, he scalped 55 wickets in 11 Tests at an average of 17.58, the best in the business (minimum five Test matches). He also seems to be the prime contender to win the award, courtesy his record breaking performances during the year. ICC will announce the winners of various awards on January 18.

Last year, it was R Ashwin who won the Test Cricketer of the year award. Along with that, he was also bestowed with Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, which is given to the Cricketer of the Year.

Stiff Competition Among Players for Test Cricketer Of The Year Award Stiff Competition Among Players for Test Cricketer Of The Year Award Stiff Competition Among Players for Test Cricketer Of The Year Award Stiff Competition Among Players for Test Cricketer Of The Year Award

Follow Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here.

Video of the day –