Ireland won the toss and decided to bowl first against Ireland in the thirteenth match of the ICC Women’s World T20 at the Providence Stadium, Guyana.

Here is what the captains said:

Harmanpreet Kaur:

“We are prepared for both, so toss doesn’t matter. We are fresh and raring to go. We have one change. In place of Arundathi, Mansi is in.”


“We are gonna have a bowl first. There is no easy game. We have one change”


With two wins from as many games, India are just one step away from sealing their spot in the semifinal. India have lived up to its tag of one of the favourites to lift its maiden T20 title by easily beating New Zealand and Pakistan. The Women in Blue beat New Zealand by 34 runs in their tournament opener before extending their dominance over arch-rivals Pakistan with a 7-wicket win.

Ireland, on the other hand, have lost both their opening two matches. In the first match, they went down to Australia by nine wickets followed by a 38-run defeat against Pakistan in the second.

With form and momentum firmly on their side, India would be looking to beat Ireland and make it to the last four.


Ireland Women (Playing XI):

Clare Shillington, Gaby Lewis, Isobel Joyce, Laura Delany(c), Shauna Kavanagh, Kim Garth, Eimear Richardson, Mary Waldron(w), Lara Maritz, Lucy OReilly, Celeste Raack

India Women (Playing XI):

Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia(w), Deepti Sharma, Dayalan Hemalatha, Radha Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.