ICC World Cup 2019: David Warner Joins Sachin Tendulkar In Elite List

ICC World Cup 2019: David Warner Joins Sachin Tendulkar In Elite List After Completing 500 Runs


Australia’s opener David Warner has made a roaring comeback to the International cricket after serving his ball-tampering ban. Warner was in sublime form in the Indian Premier League as he had scored 692 runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 12 matches. The southpaw batsman was able to continue his good form going in the ongoing ICC World Cup 2019.

Warner became the first batsman in the ongoing edition to score 500 runs. at an average of 83.33 and a strike rate of 87.26.  The left-hander scored 53 runs against arch-rivals England to continue his good form going. The Australian opener has already scored two centuries and three half-centuries in the World Cup.

Getty Images

In fact, Warner has played in a sedate manner. His strike rate is generally high but he has adopted a cautious approach in this World Cup.

Thus, David Warner became the fifth opener to score 500 runs in a World Cup edition. Sachin Tendulkar, Matthew Hayden, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Martin Guptill are the other four players. In fact, Sachin Tendulkar is the only opener who has scored 500 runs twice in the World Cup edition. Sachin had scored more than 500 runs in the 1996 and 2003 season of the World Cup.

David Warner
Getty Images

Meanwhile, Aaron Finch is also 24 runs shy from reaching the milestone. The Australian skipper has thus far scored 476 runs in the tournament and he is the second highest run-getter of the tournament. Finch has also scored two centuries in the ongoing ODI showpiece.

On the other hand, Australia posted 285 in the ongoing fixture against arch-rivals England. Australia has put their noses in front as they have scalped England’s three wickets. Thus, Jonny Bairstow and Ben Stokes will need to rebuild the innings from here as the hosts have their backs against the wall.

Openers with at least 500 runs in single World Cup campaign:

Sachin Tendulkar, 1996
Sachin Tendulkar, 2003
Matthew Hayden, 2007
Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2011
Martin Guptill, 2015
David Warner, 2019

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.