Euro T20 Slam
Euro T20 Slam (Credits: Twitter)

In a shocking turn of event, the inaugural edition of the Euro T20 Slam has been cancelled. The tournament was set to get underway this summer. It was a collaborative venture between Cricket Ireland, Cricket Scotland, the Netherlands’ KNCB and commercial partners GS Holdings. The Euro T20 Slam was about to kickstart in Amsterdam in just a fortnight’s time before the organisers announced its cancellation.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Read More: Virat Kohli Gives Update On His Thumb Injury Ahead Of Test Series

This is the third league in recent times which has been cancelled or postponed in the last one year. Before the Euro T20 Slam, UAE’s T20X competition was cancelled in November and the Hong Kong Blitz’s 2019 edition was first postponed and then cancelled entirely.

Also Read: Chris Gayle Not Retired From ODIs ‘Until Further Notice’

Prashant Mishra, ET20S Board Member and Managing Partner at Woods Entertainment, said that staging the tournament is impossible. He also said that the organisers will do everything possible to make sure the relation with the players do not get affected as they are planning to stage the tournament next year.

“The Board of the Euro T20 Slam, funding partners and franchise owners of this exciting new T20 tournament have reluctantly come to the decision that staging of the event will not be possible in 2019,” Mishra said.

Read More: West Indies vs India 2019: Twitter Reacts As India Restrict West Indies To 240 Runs

“We will work with the three cricket boards, our principal investors, the franchise owners, players and other stakeholders within the game to ensure we fulfil any commitments we have made to the extent possible. We want to ensure the goodwill and integrity that we have built up rolls on into 2020,” he added.

The league was to have seen six sides representing Dublin, Belfast, Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Glasgow and Edinburgh. The format would have seen the teams playing out a double round robin competition followed by finals over the course of three weeks. The league was set to have some big names from across the globe.

Read More: Head Coach Should Have Some Kind Of Say In Selection Of Support Staff: Zaheer Khan

The likes of Rashid Khan, Eoin Morgan, Shane Watson, Shahid Afridi, Corey Anderson, Sikandar Raza and Dale Steyn were set to play in the league.

Read More: Watch: Team India Members Wish Countrymen On 73rd Independence Day

The exact reasons behind the postponement of the league are not yet clear. This development comes just days after the incident that took place in Global T20 League Canada where players staged a protest due to non-payment of salaries.