Karun Nair, KL Rahul
KL Rahul will lead the side. (Credits - Twitter)

Last Update on: February 7th, 2019 at 05:57 pm

Of late, BCCI is releasing their squads way ahead than the scheduled time. Once again, they did the same for the second four-day game against England Lions. Surprisingly, the first four-day game against the same opposition has started today (February 7th) and then have announced the squad for the second game at the end of Day 1 stumps. Meanwhile, the major headline is that KL Rahul taking the captaincy.

Karun Nair finds a place:

They have named the pretty same squad with only one major change. They have asked the Karnataka batsman, who got triple-century for Indian National Cricket Team, Karun Nair, to the side. He will be replacing Avesh Khan from the current side.

KL Rahul, Karun Nair, India A vs England Lions 2019,
Karun Nair (Credits – AFP)

Surprisingly, they also changed the captaincy duties to KL Rahul. The very same team is being led by Ankit Bawne in the first 4-day game against England. Perhaps, they felt that Rahul being an international player could do the job well for the team.

Coming to the first day’s play of the first game, England Lions have dominated things convincingly. Surprisingly, India chose to bowl first after winning the series, despite knowing the fact that Indian pitches are tough to bat in the final innings.

Read More  Mickey Arthur Joins Pakistan Team In Hyderabad Ahead Of Their 2nd Warm Up Match In ICC World Cup 2023

England made good use of the first-day pitch, as they have knocked 303 runs on the board for the loss of 5 wickets. Ben Duckett and Sam Hain are the chief run-scorers, who scored 80 and 61 respectively. Mullaney and Jacks were unbeaten at the end of the day.

Navdeep Saini
Credits: AP

India left out Mayank Markande, Varun Aaron and Siddhesh Lad from the side for the first game. It would be interesting to see how Indians would cope up on the second day of the game. KL Rahul’s performance will be on the radar as well.

Here is the squad:

KL Rahul (Captain), A Easwaran, Priyank Panchal, A Bawne, Karun Nair, Ricky Bhui, Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, Jalaj Saxena, Mayank Markande, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Varun Aaron


I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!