Arshdeep Singh, Punjab U23, India U19 World Cup, Ishan Porel
Arshdeep Singh has been working hard. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Arshdeep Singh, who has been the member of India Under-19 World Cup winning team, has been named in the Punjab U23 team for the knockout stage of CK Nayudu Trophy 2017-18.

Arshdeep played two games in the Junior World Cup in absence of Ishan Porel. He (Porel) was ruled out for a couple of games after being injured during the first game of the tournament in New Zealand.

Arshdeep played two games against PNG and Zimbabwe, before making way for Porel. The latter made his comeback for the next three games against Bangladesh, Pakistan and Australia.

Arshdeep Singh, Punjab U23, India U19
Arshdeep Singh celebrates with his teammates. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

India won the U19 World Cup for the fourth time in the history when they successfully chased down a total of 217 in the final on February 3.

Karan Kaila to lead –

Karan Kaila has been appointed as the captain of Punjab U23 side that also includes Anmolpreet Singh.

The right-handed batsman played today’s Vijay Hazare Trophy game for Punjab against Odisha but now will have to play for the junior side.

Member of India U19 World Cup Winning team Arshdeep Singh named in Punjab U23 squad

He was the fourth highest run-scorer in the Ranji Trophy 2017/18 as he scored 753 runs in just seven innings at an average of 125.50.

He was also included in the Board President’s XI side to face the visiting Sri Lankan team in the two-day practice game before the start of the Test series.

He was also part of the Punjab side for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2017/18.

In the league stage of CK Nayudu Trophy, Punjab won two of the four games to qualify for the second round of the tournament as Arshdeep Singh is expected to leave a significant impact.

They will be facing Odisha in the quarterfinal contest on February 9 in Kanpur. In other games, Madhya Pradesh will face Gujarat, Kerala will take on Bengal.

Squad: Karan Kaila (Captain), Abhijeet Garg, Sanvir Singh, Nikhil Chaudhary, Anmolpreet Singh, Navneet Singh Virk, Anmol Malhotra (WK), Ramandeep Singh, Abhinav Sharma, Arpit Singh Pannu, Akul Pandove, Sukhjinder Singh, Arshdeep Singh, Jagjit Singh, Taranpreet Singh.

Video of the day –