Australia won the toss and decided to bat first against India in the first One-Day International at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad.

Here is what the captains said:

Aaron Finch:

“We will bat first. It looks like a dry wicket. Hopefull, we can post a big score. We want to keep improving all the time. Alex Carey comes in our team. Jhye Richardson misses out.”

Virat Kohli:

“We would have bowled first. This surface is going to be hard and it will be good to bat on. We want to continue what we were doing in New Zealand. We are pretty balanced. We are giving Chahal a break today. We would rotate our wrist spinners. Our top-order is same.”


With an eye on the upcoming World Cup, Team India will be looking to provide the final touches to their preparation when they take on Australia in the first game of the five-match series. The series is India’s last assignment ahead of the World Cup and they are still far from being a settled unit. There are still confusion over the fourth seamer, the finisher as well as Virat Kohli’s batting position.

Australia, on the other hand, will be looking to make the most of their win in the T20I series in the ODIs. The reigning world champions have not won a bilateral series since the win over Pakistan at home in 2017 and will be desperate to get back to winning ways before they fly to England to defend their title. Unlike India, Australia will play another series – a five-match ODI series against Pakistan – before the showpiece event.

So with not much time left before the World Cup, both the teams are bound to experiment in the series but will also be looking to win games in order to build the confidence ahead of the tournament.


Australia (Playing XI):

Aaron Finch(c), Usman Khawaja, Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey(w), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff

India (Playing XI):

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w), Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.