The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s squad for the two-match series against Australia. Mayank Markande, who impressed in his maiden stint for the Mumbai Indians in the IPL has received his maiden call-up. Furthermore, KL Rahul has returned back to the squad. The first T20I between the two sides will take place at Vishakhapatnam on 24th February. Meanwhile, India’s full-time skipper Virat Kohli has returned to the squad after getting the rest.

Kohli was rested for the final two One Day Internationals and the T20I series against New Zealand. Furthermore, Rohit Sharma who had led India in Kohli’s absence on the New Zealand tour is also part of the squad.

Krunal Pandya, Virat Kohli
Getty Images

Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik will get another chance to strengthen their World Cup hopes. Vijay Shankar who had impressed in the limited overs series against New Zealand makes the cut into the T20I squad.

On the other side, Siddarth Kaul retains his place in the side. Kaul had toured to New Zealand but didn’t get his chances in the three-match series against the Blackcaps.

Team India's Likely 15-Member Squad For T20I Series
India celebrates their wicket. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

The Pandya’s brother, Hardik, and Krunal continue to be in the T20I squad after a decent performance against New Zealand. Meanwhile, the last T20I series between India and Australia was tied 1-1. Umesh Yadav also gets a place in the side.

The first T20I will take place at Vizag on 24th February whereas the second final T20I will take place in Bengaluru on 27th February. After the completion of the T20I series, both teams will lock horns with each other in five-match ODI series, which will be the last for the Indian team before the ICC World Cup 2019. The first ODI will take place at Hyderabad on March 2.

Here is India’s T20I squad for the series against Australia:

Virat (Capt), Rohit (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande