Rohit Sharma, India vs Australia 2019, Sourav Ganguly
Rohit Sharma. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

India’s vice-captain Rohit Sharma has become the third joint fastest to score 8000 ODI runs. Sharma took 200 innings to scale down the personal milestone and joined Sourav Ganguly, who also achieved the same landmark in 200 innings. Indian skipper Virat Kohli is the fastest to reach 8000 ODI runs as he got to the feat in 175 innings. On the other hand, AB de Villiers had reached the milestone in 182 innings.

New Zealand talisman batsman Ross Taylor had achieved the milestone in 203 innings whereas India’s legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar took 210 innings. Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma needed 46 runs to complete 8000 runs before the decider against Australia.

Rohit Sharma, India vs Australia 2019
Rohit Sharma. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Rohit Sharma played a rash shot.

Rohit Sharma also completed 6000 ODI runs as an opener and became the fastest to get to the personal milestone. The flamboyant took 121 innings whereas Hashim Amla had taken 123 innings. Sachin Tendulkar was the third fastest as he scored 6000 runs as an opener in 133 innings.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma also completed his 41st ODI fifty. However, he could not take India over the line as he played a rash shot after scoring 56 runs from 89 balls with the help of four fours. In fact, Rohit had the rub off the green on his side as he was given two lives by Australia but he could make the most of it.

India vs Australia 2019: Rohit Sharma Becomes Third Joint Fastest to Score 8000 ODI Runs
Rohit Sharma (Credits: Getty)

India has their backs against the wall as they have lost six wickets for the score of 138 runs. The hosts require another 135 runs from the last 20 overs with Kedar Jadhav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar batting in the middle.

Adam Zampa has been the pick of the Australian bowlers as the leg-spinner has taken three wickets. On the other hand, Australia posted 272 runs after Aaron Finch won the toss and decided to bat first. Usman Khawaja scored his second hundred of the series whereas Peter Handscomb scored a fine fifty.

On the other hand, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja took two wickets each whereas Bhuvneshwar Kumar scalped three wickets.

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.