Posted inCricketNews

India vs England 2019: Harmanpreet Kaur Ruled Out Of ODI Series

Harmanpreet Kaur, Harloon Deol
Harmanpreet Kaur Action Images via Reuters.

India suffered a major setback as they lost the services of the vice-captain Harmanpreet Kaur for the major series against England Women Cricket Team. She will be replaced by the all-rounder Harleel Deol. Kaur sustained an injury to her Ankle, which might ask the all-rounder to give a few weeks of rest before returning back to the field.

A grade 2 tear in the left ankle:

A report in ESPNCricinfo added Kaur was seen training at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai to assess her fitness but scans later revealed: “a grade-2 tear in the left ankle.” Earlier, she wants to push herself for the series but unfortunately, Kaur experienced pain during the training session.

In a media release by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, they stated that the vice-captain of the women cricket team will head to National Cricket Academy to complete her Rehab process in order to join the team quickly.

Harmanpreet Kaur, Harloon Deol
Harmanpreet Kaur. Credit: Getty Images.

“Kaur was unable to participate fully in the team training session because of pain. She will now head to NCA in Bengaluru for her rehab,” a BCCI press release said.

Deol made a 29-ball 21 in the warm-up match batting at No 4 for Board President’s XI against reigning World Champions England. She also sent down six overs of spin for 40 runs without taking a wicket. She is an all-rounder, who hails from Himachal Pradesh.

India Women, BCCI, England
India Women. (Photo by Kerry Marshall/Getty Images)

India will play three ODIs in Mumbai starting February 22, followed by three T20 Internationals in Guwahati from March 4. The ODIs are a part of ICC Women’s Championship and points will be carried forward.

If Harmanpreet fails to get fit on time for the T20Is, then Smriti Mandhana will be leading the side. Mandhana has been in a great form with her willow in the recent past and also got the experience of marshalling the troop.

Also, Here Is Updated ODI Squad:

Mithali Raj (Captain), Jhulan Goswami, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues. Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), R Kalpana (wicket-keeper). Mona Meshram. Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav. Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi, Punam Raut, Harleen Deol.

Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!