Quinton de Kock will lead South Africa in their upcoming T20I series against India. The visitors will play three T20Is and as many Tests against the hosts in September and October. The T20I series will start on September 15 while the Test series will get underway on October 2. Rassie van der Dussen, who impressed in this year’s World Cup, will be de Kock’s deputy in the T20Is.

The Proteas have named as many as three newcomers in the T20I squad. Highveld Lions duo of batsman Temba Bavuma and spin bowling all-rounder Bjorn Fortuin and pacer Anrich Nortje are the latest additions to South Africa’s T20I teams.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) Acting Director of Cricket, Corrie van Zyl said that the series against India will be the last chance to try out the leadership and batting options before next year’s World T20 in Australia.

“The T20 Series gives us the last chance to have a look at our leadership and batting options as the next edition of the ICC T20 World Cup is now little more than a year away which is why we have gone with an inexperienced leadership group. This is our last chance to do this before we settle on an established squad,” said Van Zyl.

Faf du Plessis
Faf Du Plessis is not a part of the T20I side (Credits: Twitter)

Also Read: Women’s T20 Cricket Added To 2022 Commonwealth Games

Van Zyl further insisted that Test captain Faf du Plessis is an integral part of the white-ball cricket. There are doubts over du Plessis’ future in ODIs and T20Is as South Africa look to move on after a poor World Cup. South Africa have confirmed that du Plessis would continue to lead the Test side but are yet to give an update on his T20I and ODI future.

“I would like to stress that Faf du Plessis remains an important part of our plans for white-ball cricket,” said Van Zyl.

“As far as the T20 squad is concerned, Temba Bavuma and Bjorn Fortuin were two of the standout players in the CSA T20 Challenge last season while Nortje was outstanding in the Mzansi Super League until ruled out by injury.

“This is very much a form squad with players being rewarded for their consistent performances at franchise level. This applies equally to Junior Dala and Jon-Jon Smuts,” concluded Van Zyl.

Meanwhile, allrounder Chris Morris did not make himself available for selection.

South Africa T20I squad for India series:

Quinton de Kock (c), Rassie van der Dussen, Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts