New Zealand vs India 2020, Indian National Cricket Team, New Zealand Cricket Team, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson,
Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson. Credit: BCCI

India’s Tour of New Zealand 2020: Schedule, Squads, Match Timings, When and Where to Watch & Everything You Need To Know; After the three-match ODI series against Australia at home, India will begin their away leg for the year of 2020 with a full-fledged tour of New Zealand, starting January 24th with a five-match T20I series followed by three-match ODI series from February 5th and then two-match Test series from February 25th after a red-ball warm-up game in Seddon Park, Hamilton.

A series win against a strong Australia and the performance in New Zealand last year gives India a lot of confidence ahead of a fresh tour. But India has injury concerns. Senior-most pacer Ishant Sharma hurt his ankle badly while bowling during a Ranji Trophy game, raising doubts over his availability even as Shikhar Dhawan’s journey with injuries continued. Though it is a good chance for the youngsters, the team management might find it difficult to get the combination right.

New Zealand vs India 2020, Indian National Cricket Team, New Zealand Cricket Team, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson,
(Image Credit: Twitter)

For the Kiwis, skipper Kane Willaimson remains their biggest player while veteran Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill, Tim Southee will hope to perform well. They will, however, miss pacer Trent Boult, who sustained a fracture to his right hand during the Boxing Day Test in Melbourne last year.

The squad for the Test and ODI series has been kept on hold and Hardik Pandya‘s latest fitness drama could be the reason. Vijay Shankar had replaced Pandya in India A squad for New Zealand shadow tour.

India will look to maintain their unbeaten run in the shorter format after a sensational home season where they registered wins over South Africa, Bangladesh, West Indies and Sri Lanka. But, New Zealand have the advantage of stats. They have beaten India 8 times in the 11 meets when it comes to T20I format. However, India are well ahead in ODI and Test forms of the game.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul (Credits: Twitter)


T20 Squad:

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Hamish Bennett, Tom Bruce (matches 4-5), Colin de Grandhomme (matches 1-3), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

India: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (VC), K.L. Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur

Ishant Sharma, Virat Kohli
Ishant Sharma with Virat Kohli (Credits: BCCI)

ODI Squads:

India: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (vc), Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Kedar Jadhav.

Test Squads:

Yet to be announced…

Full Schedule with date, time and venue:




Time (IST)

Jan 24, Fri 1st T20I Eden Park, Auckland 12:30 PM
Jan 26, Sun 2nd T20I Eden Park, Auckland 12:30 PM
Jan 29, Wed 3rd T20I Seddon Park, Hamilton 12:30 PM
Jan 31, Fri 4th T20I Westpac Stadium, Wellington 12:30 PM
Feb 02, Sun 5th T20I Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui 12:30 PM
Feb 05, Wed 1st ODI Seddon Park, Hamilton 7:30 AM
Feb 08, Sat 2nd ODI Eden Park, Auckland 7:30 AM
Feb 11, Tue 3rd ODI Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui 7:30 AM
Feb 14, Fri – Feb 16, Sun 3-day Practice Match Seddon Park, Hamilton 3:30 AM
Feb 21, Fri – Feb 25, Tue 1st Test Basin Reserve, Wellington 4:00 AM
Feb 29, Sat – Mar 04, Wed 2nd Test Hagley Oval, Christchurch 4:00 AM

When and Where to watch IND vs NZ:

DD Sports, Star Sports and Live Telecast on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports Hindi 1 will be the television broadcasters for the much-awaited series.

Live Streaming:

Hotstar Premium and Hotstar VIP


T20Is: 11 – New Zealand 8-3 India.

ODIs: 107 – New Zealand 46-55 India.

Tests: 57 – New Zealand 10-21 India; 26 draws.

Read More – Virat Kohli Issues A Warning To New Zealand Ahead Of Their Bilateral Series

Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!