IPL 2018 auction Tamil Nadu
India's Ravichandran Ashwin could be retained by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by using the RTM during the IPL auction 2018. Image Courtesy: Getty Images

A total of 53 cricketers from Tamil Nadu have signed up for the upcoming IPL auction, as per a report in TOI.

IPL 2018: 53 Players from Tamil Nadu Sign Up for IPL Auction
Photo credits: BCCI

Out of these, Washington Sundar will be the star attraction, as he is expected to go at the highest price out of cricketers coming from the state due to his superb form in the previous season. Though he is a capped player now but still, him putting his base price 1.75 Crore is something which came out of the box.

The league will also see a comeback of T Natarajan, who will make a comeback during Vijay Hazare Trophy after suffering from an elbow injury. Natarajan was rated highly and drew comparisons with Mustafizur Rahman riding on his performances in TNPL 2016, but he disappointed in the IPL.

Natarajan bagged a deal worth Rs 3 Crore with Kings XI Punjab but played only six games in which he took just two wickets, going for 9.07 runs.

India South Africa Dinesh Karthik
Image Courtesy: Getty Images

R Ashwin, Dinesh Karthik and Murali Vijay will be other stars going under the hammer. Ashwin is highly likely to be retained by Chennai Super Kings by use of the Right to Match (RTM) card. Both Vijay and Karthik are too expected to draw big amounts on the auction day.

The list of players also includes names of Baba Aprajith and his brother Baba Indrajith. Aprajith is yet to make his IPL debut despite being part of the league since 2013. He was with Chennai Super Kings from 2013 to 2015 while was bought by Rising Pune Supergiant in 2016 auction.

On the other hand, Indrajith hasn’t been part of any IPL franchise till now and might go unsold again, as he didn’t play in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. He is recovering from a shoulder injury.

Vijay Shankar, the all-rounder, is expected to bag a big deal this time. He did well for India A against New Zealand A and is known for hitting big sixes, a fact which will go in his favour.

The IPL auction for the upcoming season will be held on January 27 and 28 in Bangalore. A total of 112 players have put their names on the list, which will be pruned later.

Capped: R Ashwin, Dinesh Karthik, M Vijay (Rs 2 cr); Washington Sundar (Rs 1.5cr); Abhinav Mukund (Rs 50 lakh)

Uncapped: Vijay Shankar & T Natarajan (Rs 40 lakh); Ganapathi Chandrasekar (Rs
30 lakh)

Rs 20 lakh: M Ashwin, V Yo Mahesh, S Anirudha, B Aparajith, B Indrajith, Anirudh
Balachander, K Bharath Shankar, Samrudh Bhat, Aswin Crist, Anthony Dhas, S Harish
Kumar, J Kousik, K Mukunth, M Shahrukh Khan, M Abhinav, M Ganesh Moorthi,
Kaushik Gandhi, K Vignesh, Ashwath Mukunthan, N Jagadeesan, Mohan Prasath, R
Rajkumar, R Silambarasan, R Vivek, R Karthikeyan, R Alexander, R Rohith, R Malolan,
Kavin Ravi, R Sai Kishore, R Rohit, SV Muruganantham, M Mohammed, Rahil Shah, M
Shahjahan, Anand Subramaian, Akash Sumra, S Lokeshwar, L Suryapprakash,
Abhishek Tanwar, U Sasidev, V Athisayaraj Davidson, V Lakshman, V Ganga Sridhar
Raju, R Sanjay Yadav.

Follow IPL 2018 news here

Video of the day: