IPL Trophy. (Credits: BCCI)

Last Update on: May 13th, 2019 at 01:34 pm

The twelfth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) came to an end on Sunday with a thrilling final between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 1 run to become the first-ever team to win the IPL four times. It was also Mumbai Indians’ third win over Super Kings in an IPL final.  Batting first, Mumbai scored 149 for 8 in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, the Super Kings ended up on 148 for 7.

With the season now done and dusted, here are all the award winners from the twelfth edition of the IPL:

Man-of-the-match of the final – Jasprit Bumrah

Bumrah walked away with the Man of the Match trophy for conceding just 14 runs off his four overs in addition to picking up 2 wickets.

“Very happy,” Bumrah said.  “We know finals can be close, so wanted to stay calm. Winning fourth title for Mumbai makes me very happy. Today I was surprisingly very calm. Wasn’t panicking, just focusing on the next ball. Doesn’t help taking extra pressure, instead I back my skills.”

Also Read: IPL 2019: Rohit Sharma Credits the Whole Team After Another Successful IPL Season

Emerging player of the season – Shubman Gill

Gill finished the season with 296 runs at a strike-rate of 124.30, including three fifties and was named the Emerging player of the season award. He took home Rs. 10,00,000.

Shubman Gill | IPL 2019 |
Shubman Gill (Credits: IPL)

Perfect Catch of the Season – Kieron Pollard

Kieron Pollard won the Perfect Catch of the Season after his screamer at deep point off Suresh Raina in the league stage. He walked away with Rs 10,00,000.

Stylish Player of the Season – KL Rahul

KL Rahul receives the Most Stylish Player of the Season award, which is being collected by his friend Hardik Pandya. Rahul finished the season with 593 runs.

Also Read: IPL History: List of Players Who Won Emerging Player Award Since 2008

Purple cap – Imran Tahir

With 26 wickets in 17 games, Super Kings leg-spinner Imran Tahir won the Purple cap for taking most number of wickets. In the final, he dismissed Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav to displace Kagiso Rabada of Delhi Capitals from the top spot.

With 26 wickets, he also broke the joint record of most wickets in a season by a spinner held by Sunil Narine and Harbhajan Singh. Harbhajan and Narine took 24 wickets each in 2012 and 2013 respectively.

“I’m grateful to Chennai for giving me an opportunity at this age. Want to thank management, coaches, captain and players. It’s sad we didn’t win but Mumbai played well and deserved the victory. I’ve been working hard to maintain an economy. Not easy bowling against the local Indian and international players. But really just pleased with my self. Hard work is all I’ve been doing. I would love to carry on as long I can,” he said.

Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals
Imran Tahir (Image Credit: BCCI)

Orange cap – David Warner

What a season Warner has had. The Australia star had returned home after playing just 12 games but still managed to win the Orange Cap for scoring the most number of runs. The southpaw finished the season with 692 runs from 12 matches.

“An honour to win the Orange Cap,” Warner said via a video message. “When we play, we don’t think of these awards. But must say congratulations to the curator for a good surface. Always a privilege to play in Hyderabad. Very grateful to be part of the IPL. Thank you very much.”

Also Read: Watch: MS Dhoni’s Controversial Run-Out In The Final

Most Valuable Player – Andre Russell

Kolkata Knight Riders star Andre Russell bagged the Most Valuable Player Award. He also got Rs 1,00,000 which was being collected by Shubman Gill.

Super Striker of the Season – Andre Russell

“Happy to win the striker award,” Russell said via a recorded message. “I think a lot of guys were up for the award this season, but I’m fortunate to win it. Hopefully next year we will go all the way and I can collect the key in the final.”

Russell took home another Rs 10,00,000 along with a car.

Fairplay award – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderbad won the Fairplay Award for the season. VVS Laxman collected the trophy on the team’s behalf.

Pitch and ground award –

Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) and Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA) received the Pitch and Ground award.