Delhi Capitals (DC) clinched a memorable victory against the host side Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on Sunday (14th April) night at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (Hyderabad). The visiting side won this match by 39 runs.

The Delhi franchise scored 155/7 (20 overs) in the first innings after the home side decided to bowl first. In reply, SRH failed to chase that target as they were bundled out for just 116 runs (18.5 overs).

Brief Scores: DC – 155/7 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 45, Colin Munro 40; Khaleel Ahmed 3/30)

SRH – 116 in 18.5 overs (David Warner 51, Jonny Bairstow 41; Kagiso Rabada 4/22)

Result – DC won by 39 runs

Here are some of the statistical highlights of the match:

Teams’ stats


i) SRH scored only 116 runs (18.5 overs) in the second innings. It is their lowest completed total against the Delhi franchise. Their previous lowest was 146/8 (20 overs) at Hyderabad (Deccan) on 12th May 2016. Meanwhile, SRH’s latest innings is their third lowest completed total against any side.



i) DC won this match by 39 runs which is the largest victory (by runs) for any side during a match between SRH and DC (or Delhi Daredevils). SRH was the previous record holder who beat the Delhi franchise by 15 runs at Hyderabad (Deccan) on 19th April 2017. Meanwhile, the latest victory was the third largest victory (by runs) for the Delhi franchise outside Delhi.

ii) It was the second victory for the Delhi franchise against SRH at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (Hyderabad). Their first victory was on 12th May 2016 (by seven wickets).


Players’ stats


i) Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has taken 101 T20 wickets for SRH (all in IPL). He is the first SRH bowler to take 100 T20 wickets. Moreover, the Indian pacer is the fifth bowler to take 100 or more IPL wickets for a team.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Image Credit: IPL)

ii) The left-handed opening batsman David Warner becomes the first batsman to score 1,500 or more T20 runs at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (Hyderabad). By the end of this match, he has scored 1,526 T20 runs at this venue.

David Warner (Image Credit: IPL)

iii) The Indian left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed had the bowling figures of 4-0-30-3. It is the best bowling figures by an SRH bowler against the Delhi franchise. Darren Sammy was the previous record holder with the bowling figures of 3-0-10-2 at Hyderabad (Deccan) on 4th May 2013.

Khaleel Ahmed (Image Credit: IPL)


i) Kagiso Rabada, the South African pacer, had the bowling figures of 3.5-0-22-4. It is the second best bowling figures by a bowler from the Delhi franchise against SRH. JP Duminy is the record holder with the bowling figures of 3-0-17-4 at Visakhapatnam on 18th April 2015.

Kagiso Rabada (Image Credit: IPL)