The host side Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) claimed a convincing victory against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) on Wednesday (24th April) night at M Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bengaluru). The home team secured their third straight wins after beating the away side by 17 runs.

KXIP captain Ravichandran Ashwin decided to field first after winning the toss. In the first batting, the host side scored 202/4 (20 overs). Chasing down that big target, KXIP was restricted to 185/7 (20 overs).

Read More: After Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar & VVS Laxman Also Served With Conflict Of Interest Notices

Brief Scores:  RCB – 202/4 in 20 overs (AB de Villiers 82*, Marcus Stoinis 46*; Ravichandran Ashwin 1/15)

KXIP – 185/7 in 20 overs (Nicholas Pooran 46, KL Rahul 42; Umesh Yadav 3/36)

Result – RCB won by 17 runs

Here are some of the statistical highlights of the match:

Teams’ stats


i) The home team RCB managed to score 202/4 (20 overs) in the first innings. It is their fifth highest total against KXIP.


ii) RCB was successful in defending their 200+ total as they won this match by 17 runs. Since 5th May 2017, KXIP has never beaten RCB. Since that day, the Bangalore franchise has won four consecutive matches against the Punjab franchise.


i) KXIP scored 185/7 (20 overs) in the second innings. It is their third-highest total against RCB at M Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bengaluru). The top two records are 203/3 (20 overs) and 198/8 (20 overs).


Players’ stats


i) AB de Villiers and Marcus Stoinis put an unbroken 121-run partnership for the fifth wicket. It is the highest fifth-wicket partnership for RCB as their previous record was 95 runs partnership between Virat Kohli and Jacques Kallis against Deccan Chargers at Bengaluru on 8th April 2010. Also, this 121-run partnership is the fourth highest IPL partnership for the fifth wicket.

AB de Villiers and Marcus Stoinis (Image Credit: Twitter)


ii) The right-arm pace bowler Umesh Yadav has picked 29 T20 wickets against KXIP (all in IPL). He is the most IPL wicket-taker against any one side. Dwayne Bravo is in the next position with 28 IPL wickets against Mumbai Indians.

Read More: IPL 2019: Updated Points Table, Orange Cap & Purple Cap Lists

Umesh Yadav (Image Credit – BCCI)



i) The right-handed batsman KL Rahul was playing his 93rd T20 match where he completed his 3,000 T20 runs. By the end of this match, he has scored 3,029 T20 runs. KL Rahul is the fastest Indian batsman to complete 3,000 T20 runs as he broke the records of Gautam Gambhir and Suresh Raina who had completed their 3,000 T20 runs in 107 innings. Meanwhile, KL Rahul is also the joint fifth-fastest batsman to score 3,000 T20 runs.


KL Rahul (Image Credit: Google)