RR, KKR, KKR vs RR, IPL 2019
Image Credit: Google

Rajasthan Royals (RR) claimed an important victory on last Thursday (25th April) night when they beat the home team Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by three wickets (with four balls remaining) at Eden Gardens (Kolkata).

RR captain Steven Smith decided to field first after winning the toss. The host side managed to score 175/6 (20 overs) in the first innings. However, the away team successfully chased down that target in 19.2 overs after losing seven wickets.

Brief Scores:  KKR – 175/6 in 20 overs (Dinesh Karthik 97*, Nitish Rana 21; Varun Aaron 2/20)

RR – 177/7 in 19.2 overs (Riyan Parag 47, Ajinkya Rahane 34; Piyush Chawla 3/20)

Result – RR won by three wickets

Here are some of the statistical highlights of the match:

Teams’ stats

Read More: IPL 2019: Updated Points Table, Orange Cap & Purple Cap Lists


i) In the first innings, KKR scored 175/6 (20 overs). It is the second highest total for KKR against RR while the record is 190/9 (20 overs) at Mumbai (Brabourne Stadium) on 16th May 2015.

ii) This defeat is the sixth consecutive defeat for KKR. It is the second worst record for KKR as they had suffered nine straight losses in IPL 2009.


i) Before this victory, RR last time beat KKR on 16th May 2015 at Brabourne Stadium (Mumbai). Since then KKR won four consecutive matches against RR before this defeat.

ii) This victory was the second victory for RR against KKR at Eden Gardens (Kolkata). On 20th May 2008, RR won their first match against KKR at this venue, and since then, they faced six consecutive defeats against this side at this venue before their latest victory.

Players’ stats


i) The skipper and wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik was not out on 97 runs off 50 balls. It is the second highest individual score by a KKR batsman. Brendon McCullum is the record holder who scored 158* against Royal Challengers Bangalore at Bengaluru on 18th April 2008.

RR, KKR, KKR vs RR, IPL 2019
Dinesh Karthik (Image Credit: IPL)


i) Steven Smith has scored 2,000 IPL runs by the end of this match. After David Warner (4,588 runs), Shane Watson (3,420 runs), Shaun Marsh (2,477 runs) and Adam Gilchrist (2,069 runs), Steven Smith became the fifth Australian batsman to score 2,000 or more IPL runs.

RR, KKR, KKR vs RR, IPL 2019
Steven Smith (Image Credit: IPL)

ii) Riyan Parag becomes the 10th batsman in IPL history to be dismissed hit wicket.

RR, KKR, KKR vs RR, IPL 2019Riyan Parag (Image Credit: Twitter)

Read More: Twitter Erupts As Riyan Parag-Inspired Royals Beat Kolkata Knight Riders