IPL 2020: Big Boost For Franchises As BCCI Finally Fixes Quarantine Period For Australia, England Players

IPL 2020: Big Boost For Franchises As BCCI Finally Fixes Quarantine Period For Australia, England Players

IPL 2021 Auction: Complete List Of Players Released And Retained By All IPL Franchises And Their Remaining Purse Value
IPL Trophy. Photo by: Deepak Malik /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

The Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises have received a big boost ahead of the start of the tournament regarding the availability of the players who recently took part in the bilateral series between England and Australia. A total of 21 players landed in UAE from England following the three T20Is and as many ODIs.

Recent reports suggested that the player were set to miss the first game of their respective franchises due to the mandatory six-day quarantine. However, the players will have to undergo just 36 hours of quarantine instead of the earlier prescribed six days.

Aaron Finch, Eoin Morgan, England, Australia, England vs Australia
Aaron Finch and Eoin Morgan (Photo by Gareth Copley-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

All the franchises which have English and Australian players had appealed for reducing the quarantine period and the BCCI under Sourav Ganguly’s leadership has been able to successfully sort the issue out with local authorities in the UAE.

“Yes, I can confirm that all the English and Australian players have to now undergo 36-hour quarantine instead of six days. The matter has been sorted and most of the teams will now have their big stars available from the first game itself,” a senior IPL functionary privy to development told PTI.

Here is the list of the players who are coming to UAE from England:

Rajasthan Royals: Steven Smith, Andrew Tye, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Tom Curran

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Billy Stanlake, Jonny Bairstow

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Aaron Finch, Adam Zampa, Joshua Phillipe, Moeen Ali

Chennai Super Kings: Josh Hazlewood, Sam Curran

Mumbai Indians: Nathan Coulter-Nile

Kolkata Knight Riders: Pat Cummins, Eoin Morgan, Tom Banton

Kings XI Punjab: Glenn Maxwell, Chris Jordan

Delhi Capitals: Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey

Meanwhile, IPL 2020 gets underway on September 19 in Abu Dhabi. Defending champions Mumbai Indians will take on last year’s runners-up Chennai Super Kings in a mouth-watering tournament-opener.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Is Mumbai Indians’ Poor Record In UAE A Concern? Rohit Sharma Answers

Also Read: ICC ODI Rankings: Jonny Bairstow Moves Into Top Ten, Virat-Rohit Continue To Occupy Top Two Spots