IPL 2020: Kieron Pollard Joins Mumbai Indians Squad Ahead Of Opener

IPL 2020: Kieron Pollard Joins Mumbai Indians Squad Ahead Of Opener

Kieron Pollard | Hardik Pandya |
Kieron Pollard. Credit: IPL

West Indies powerhouse Kieron Pollard joined the Mumbai Indians squad ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 opener on September 19. Pollard has been in red-hot form in the CPL 2020 and will look to make the most of his opportunity for Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2020 as well.

Pollard joins the Mumbai Indians squad at the back of his franchise Trinbago Knight Riders’ CPL 2020 triumph. The Trinbago Knight Riders remained unbeaten throughout the tournament to taste victory. Mumbai Indians posted the picture of Kieron Pollard arriving in Abu Dhabi from the Caribbean Island.

Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya
Credits – Twitter

“From the Caribbean Isles to Abu Dhabi The Pollard family and Rutherford have arrived OneFamily MumbaiIndians MI Dream11IPL @KieronPollard55,” Pollard’s team Mumbai Indians said in a tweet.

Not just Pollard, his West Indies teammate Sherfane Rutherford, also joined the Mumbai Indians squad ahead of the IPL 2020 opener against Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

Mumbai Indians have been the most successful team in IPL history. They have clinched the IPL title four times under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. CSK are the second most successful team with three titles to their name.

Kieron Pollard IPL 2018 Rohit Sharma
Kieron Pollard’s inclusion made the difference, feels Rohit Sharma. Image Courtesy: BCCI

IPL 2020 will be played entirely in UAE due to the pandemic situation forcing the cricket board to host the tournament away from India. Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah will be the three venues used for the tournament. Dream 11 have been named as the sponsor for the upcoming season of the tournament after VIVO pulled out.

All the franchise have arrived in UAE with some of the foreign players still to join the squad. Players from England and Australia will join their respective franchises once their ongoing three-match T20I series concludes.